Skip to content

Blueberry-and-Raspberry Pancakes

August 27, 2012

I apologise for my blogging absence.  Looking back at my last post, suppers on the porch by the lake feel so long ago!  I am back in Mackenzie for another fall, banding birds, and picking wild blueberries whenever I can.  I already have 19 cups in the freezer and big plans for jam-making, syrup-making, and a winter-ful of breakfasts, smoothies and baking.

But for now I am also enjoying them fresh with yoghurt and granola, with ice cream, in crisps (I bought an old toaster oven for $4 and now I have the ability to bake smalls things out at the station!), and in pancakes.  Some of the local volunteers have been supplying us from their raspberry bushes so I’ve been enjoying those as well.

This weekend was my first four days off and I headed down to Prince George to meet up with my mum and brother who came from Alberta,  and we  visited with various relatives.  I dragged them along with me to the farmers’ market and it was as good as I remember it being from last year.  Then they came here for a visit (my brother had never been to a banding station before) and, among other things, we picked blueberries.  They left yesterday, and this morning I slept in and made pancakes.  Delcious, delicous pancakes.  I am very sad that this was the last of this year’s raspberry crop.

Blueberry-Raspberry Pancakes

(makes approximately 8 pancakes, serves 3 to 4)

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp sugar

2 eggs

1 1/4 cups milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp canola oil or melted butter

approximately 1/2 cup blueberries

approximately 2/3 cup raspberries, each raspberry halved

Heat a frying pan over low heat.  In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and sugar.  In a medium bowl, beat eggs, then stir in milk, vanilla, and oil.  Stir wet ingredients into dry until just combined.

When the pan is hot enough to make a drop of cold water dance, grease lightly with butter.  Add enough batter to make a pancake, then dot with blueberries and raspberries.   Cook until underside is golden (the top will be covered in bubbles), then flip and cook other side.  Repeat, cleaning pan as needed, as the raspberries tend to stick to the pan.

Serve as desired.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 7:19 pm

    This pancake looks delicious indeed!

  2. August 27, 2012 9:46 pm

    “Hot enough to make a drop of cold water dance”… 🙂

    • August 28, 2012 5:09 pm

      I think that phrase must be from the Five Roses Flour cookbook. I always use that testing method for making pancakes. I suppose “sizzle” would be a better word. 😉

  3. August 28, 2012 5:51 am

    A nice way to start the morning. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Ed Golem permalink
    August 28, 2012 7:10 am

    Great picture!

Leave a Reply

