Skip to content

French Toast Sandwiches

July 21, 2012

This morning we woke up at 3:30 a.m. to wind and rain, so we decided to postpone today’s banding session and went back to sleep.  So by the time we got up again, we’d been in bed for almost 12 hours!  The breeze is still strong but the rain had cleared up and the sun was out, and it was a perfect day for brunch on the porch.

I had an idea to make cream cheese and jam french toast sandwiches for quite some time now, but had never tried it.   Last shopping trip I picked up a jar of Crofter’s Organic raspberry jam, as I had noticed it is sweetened with fair trade sugar.  It turned out to be not-too-sweet, which is how I like my jam, and perfect for this recipe.

Cream Cheese and Jam French Toast Sandwiches

(serves 2)

2 eggs

2-3 tbsp milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

4 slices bread

cream cheese

raspberry jam or flavour of choice

In a bowl wide enough to fit your bread in, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla.  Spread two slices of bread with cream cheese.  Spread the other two slices with jam.  Sandwich together.  Dip in egg mixture and let the excess drip off.  Fry in greased frying pan until golden and serve as desired.

I don’t actually measure the milk in my french toast batter, but in my experience the less the better.

We had a crew exchange last week so unfortunately I won’t be putting a Gabrielle seal-of-approval on my recipes anymore ;).  But now Judiete is here and she proclaimed this delicious.  I’ll be definitely making this again.

What kind of french toast do you like?

What’s your favourite flavour of jam?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2012 6:23 pm

    I like french toast with Mom’s homemade syrup. And I also LOVE Monte Cristo Sandwiches, have you ever had one? My favourite jams are homemade raspberry and also Lingonberry. Mmmmmmmmmm.

    Why did your crew change? Gabrielle must be missing your cooking!

  2. Gabrielle permalink
    July 22, 2012 9:08 pm

    Ooh you had been talking about it too, darn. Did it cook in the middle – not too soggy? I miss J’s cooking indeed!

  3. Julian permalink
    July 23, 2012 10:26 am

    OMG……….!

  4. September 1, 2012 6:41 pm

    I grew up on peanut butter and honey mixed and put between 2 pieces of bread. Then dip in egg mixture and cook. It is delicious!! Don’t even really need syrup!

Leave a Reply

