Skip to content

Chickpea-Feta Summer Salad

July 11, 2012

Is it too hot to cook where you are?  Our cabin doesn’t have air conditioning or even a fan so it can get a bit warm.  It actually was a little cooler today, but the day was hazy with smoke from a forest fire and I didn’t feel up to making an elaborate meal.  Thinking about a salad to make I recalled this recipe tucked away in my recipe book.  So after a lovely swim in the lake, I made it.  Gabrielle asked, “Are you going to post this on your blog?”  so I count that as a rave review. 😉

Chickpea-Feta Summer Salad

(serves 2, adapted from Canadian Living)

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp cumin

black pepper to taste

1 cup chickpeas

10-12 cherry or grape tomatoes, quartered

3/4 cup diced cucumber

1/2 orange or yellow pepper, diced

2 green onions, thinly sliced

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup crumbled feta

2 handfuls baby spinach leaves, torn into bite-sized pieces

In a large bowl, stir together lemon juice, olive oil, cumin, and black pepper.  Add chickpeas, tomatoes, cucumber, pepper, onions, feta, and walnuts; mix.

Divide spinach leaves between two serving bowls.  Top with salad.  Serve.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 7:42 pm

    Yum!! I’ve been craving chickpea salad for a few days now and this is the perfect recipe for it! Thanks for sharing! 😀

  2. Julian permalink
    July 12, 2012 12:37 pm

    Thanks for reminding me of my old friend chickpea! It is darn hot here on the coast, especially in a warehouse 😦
    Will be making this tonight; we have a tub of feta to use up!
    Happy banding!

  3. July 19, 2012 6:34 pm

    I’m very envious that you were able to a) swim on a lake and b) proceed to eat this salad afterward. Looks delicious, and right up my alley. I’m pretty sure some rendition of this (without the pepper which I’m not a huge fan of) will be made in my kitchen soon!

Leave a Reply

