Skip to content

Cinnamon-Raisin Bread

April 7, 2012

The other day at work two of my coworkers were discussing a certain store’s raisin bread.  I haven’t eaten raisin bread in years, but thinking about it then put me in the mind to try making some on Friday.

My internet was out so I pulled out about five different cookbooks and only one had a recipe anything like what I was imagining, bread with a swirl of cinnamon and raisins rolled up in it.  But that recipe seemed a little strange so I decided to adjust a cinnamon bread recipe from an old Fleischmann’s yeast booklet that I got for 10 cents at a thrift store in Maple Creek a couple of summers ago.  It is the same booklet my mum’s bread recipe is adapted from, although hers has a different cover.

Cinnamon-Raisin Bread

(makes 2 loaves)

1 ¼ cups milk

¼ cup butter

¼ cup + 1 tsp white sugar, divided

¼ tsp salt

½ cup warm water (100°F)

1 tbsp yeast

2 eggs, beaten

5 ½ cups all-purpose flour, approximately

for filling:

1 tbsp butter, melted

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp white sugar

1 ½ tsp cinnamon

¾ to 1 ¼ cups raisins*, with enough boiling water to soak

In a saucepan, combine milk and butter. Heat over low heat until butter melts, and then stir in ¼ cup sugar and the salt.  Let stand until lukewarm.  Meanwhile, in a large bowl combine warm water, yeast, and 1 tsp sugar.  Let stand until foamy, about 10 minutes.    Add milk mixture.  Add eggs and 1 ½ cups flour and beat until smooth.  Add 3 ½ cups more flour and mix in.  Using remaining ½ cup of flour, flour a surface and knead dough, adding additional flour as necessary, until smooth and elastic, about 5 to 7 minutes.  Place in a greased bowl and turn to grease top.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

For filling, combine sugars and cinnamon.  Cover raisins with boiling water and let soak 5 minutes, drain.

Punch dough down and divide in half.  Roll each piece into a 12” x 8” rectangle.  Spread each with half the melted butter, then half the sugar mixture.  Sprinkle with raisins.  Starting at 8” side, roll up.  Tuck ends under and place each loaf in a greased 9” x 5” x 3” pan.  Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Bake for about 30 minutes or until done.  Remove from pans and cool on wire racks.

*I used ¾ cup raisins, which seemed like a lot when I was putting them on, but they seem pretty sparse in the finished product.

This is a slightly sweet bread, made richer than my regular bread because of the eggs.  It worked wonderfully for french toast this morning.  If you aren’t a raisin lover, leave them out and perhaps increase the brown sugar instead.

Mmmm…

I haven’t made french toast in a very long time… now I’m wondering, why not?

Raisins?  Yea or nay?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 7, 2012 11:50 am

    Looks wonderful Jillian. Didn’t Chai want to check it out? 🙂

  2. April 7, 2012 12:24 pm

    the bread and french toast look yummy!

  3. April 7, 2012 3:15 pm

    I like raisins plain as a snack but in things? I can take em or leave em. I also enjoy them covered in chocolate. 😀

  4. April 7, 2012 10:22 pm

    I loooooove raisins. There is a guy at my church who when you shake his hand he palms you a wrapped sugar candy or a little box or raisins. Last Sunday I got raisins!

  5. April 9, 2012 8:26 am

    This bread looks lovely and the french toast sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

Leave a Reply

