Skip to content

Multigrain Pizza Crust

April 3, 2012

I don’t order or go out for pizza very often… maybe once a year.  But when I do, I like to get it on a multigrain crust.  I’m much more of a homemade pizza person.  My usual pizza has an all-purpose flour and cornmeal crust (technically that’s multigrain, I suppose, but…)   I tried making a whole wheat crust a few years ago but it didn’t turn out so well.   So after going out for pizza with my mum I decided to search online for a multigrain crust. I wasn’t particularly pleased with what I found (no, all-purpose plus whole wheat flour does not equal multigrain.)  Finally I came across a blog that had a recipe that I took quite a few liberties with, and came up with something that I enjoyed.  Today was my second attempt, as it needed a few more tweaks, and this try was definitely a success.  Mmmm… grainy goodness.

Multigrain Pizza Crust

(makes one 12-inch pizza)

3/4 cup hot water (100°F)

1/2 tablespoon yeast

1 tsp sugar

2 tbsp quinoa, plus enough hot water to cover

3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup oats (I used quick oats, but old-fashioned should work)

1 tbsp cornmeal, plus extra for sprinkling on pan

1 tbsp flax (I used 1/2 tbsp ground and 1/2 tbsp whole)

1/2 tbsp poppy seeds

1/2 tbsp sesame seeds

1/2 tbsp black sesame seeds

1 tbsp vital wheat gluten

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

approximately 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

pizza sauce and toppings of choice

Place hot water, yeast, and sugar in a large bowl and stir to dissolve.  Let sit until foamy, about 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, cover quinoa in enough hot water to soak.

When yeast is ready, drain quinoa and add to yeast mixture.  Add remaining ingredients, adding enough flour as needed.  Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead 5 minutes.   Place in a greased bowl, cover with a dish towel, and place in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 450°F.  Grease a 12″ pizza pan well.  Sprinkle with cornmeal if desired.  Place dough to fit pan.  (I actually removed enough dough to make a breadstick and baked that as well, because I like my crust thinner.)  Top with pizza sauce and toppings of choice.  Bake for about 20-25  minutes, or until cheese is browned and pizza mostly comes unstuck from pan when you try to lift it. (I say mostly because this crust seems stickier than ones made with just all-purpose flour.)

Wait 5 minutes before cutting.  Enjoy!

I think it is fairly safe to adjust the various seeds as desired (since I did!) — i.e. double the regular sesame seeds if you don’t have black ones, add more flax instead of poppy seeds, and so on, just keep the number of tablespoons the same.

As you can see, I am happy to have my short lens back.  Also, I love the longer days– natural light for food photography is possible any day of the week now!

local, grass-fed all-beef pepperoni from the farmers’ market makes the best pizza 😉

What kind of pizza crust do you prefer?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 1:57 am

    Oh! That leavened dough looks gorgeous dotted with grains!

  2. blackskimmer1 permalink
    April 7, 2012 9:26 am

    great photos too! welcome back, short lens!

Leave a Reply

