Skip to content

One Year!

February 19, 2012

As I mentioned earlier, Birds and Baking turned 1 on the 14th!  Okay, it’s not really that big of a milestone, but since WordPress makes it so easy to look at the stats, I’d thought that I’d share some with you.

With 7698 total views (not including my own), my top posts (all the ones with over 100 views) are:

“Fake-out” Beef Chop Suey (514 views)

Top search terms bringing people here include:

  • “chop suey” (142), “beef chop suey” (92), “chopsuey” (24), “biff chop suey” (9), and various other variations and spelling errors related to chop suey
  • “chicken nuggets” (37)
  • “marble cake” (25)
  • “birds and baking” (23)
  • “toaster oven chocolate chip cookies” (22)

Strange search terms where I know what people found include:

“long arms”

“wiping off the table”

and

“which tipe (sic) of bird likes water and french fries”

(I think they just ended up at my Oven Fries post.  I hope they were thinking about gulls and not trying to feed a pet bird!)  Seriously, why are you googling that?

Other strange searches (and stranger still that they ended up at my blog) include:

  • “canola digest”  and “canola dessert”
  • “ontario big cat”
  • “magenta high back chair”
  • “cool boy french”
  • “dessert made out of an invertebrate”
  • “a smelly person is a dirty person”

As for followers, I currently have a very surprising 48 people who subscribe to my posts!   In the blogging world, that’s not that many, but it is to me… thanks everyone for reading!  I can’t believe complete strangers want to read my recipes, see my pictures, and hear about my cat!  Many thanks to my biggest fan (or at least my top commenter)– Jennie Frances!  Thanks, Mum! 😉

As for me some of my favourite posts include:

  • In the “Random” category Halt! Who goes there? is kind of fun.  I love how re-reading posts bring me vividly back to the time when I wrote them.
  • As for cooking and baking, I love them all, but I regularly consult my Sunday Bread Series recipes.

Do you have a favourite post, photo, or recipe from my site?  I’d love to know!  Has anyone tried any of my recipes?  I’ve think I’ve had 3 people say they tried the honey cornbread, so as far as I know that’s my most-tried recipe. (But some googler must have tried my chop suey, right?)

I look forward to another exciting year of blogging! 😉  You can look forward to more book reviews, more crafts, more Chai (of course), and more bird-related adventures.  However, yesterday I sent my short lens away to be repaired as it has been giving me problems for quite some time,  so I may have some issues with taking pictures for the next month or so!  I have a point-and-shoot camera but I am not sure if it will work very well for food photography.  Thankfully I have a few recipes with photos waiting to be posted.

Thanks again everyone!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 7:51 am

    I’m so glad you are loving blogging! I know I love reading it. And your pictures and stories are always great. 😀

  2. Pamela permalink
    February 20, 2012 8:48 am

    I read ever one of your blog posts as soon as I get it in my email. 😀 I don’t understand some of those crazy search terms!!!! I am surprised, however, that no one is searching “Chai” and ending up at your blog. He is mentioned in a lot of your posts! Happy 101-200 posts. What will this year bring?

  3. Mara permalink
    February 21, 2012 7:19 am

    I’ve definitely tried some of your receipes–from the source herself! 🙂 Yum. I LOVED those chocolate chip cookies. When I made them from the Chip-its bag, they just weren’t the same.

  4. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:47 am

    I always enjoy your post Jillian. Of course baking really isn’t my thing anymore but I enjoy seeing what you and Chai are up too and of course your bird adventures. Keep up the good work.

  5. February 22, 2012 10:34 pm

    Hi Jillian! Carmen told me about your awesome blog!! I love it! you rule 🙂

  6. elmediat permalink
    February 25, 2012 8:29 pm

    Congratulations ! I will have to check out some of those recipes and share them with friends & family. I know what you mean by strange search terms, some of the ones that sent people to my blog are real head-scratchers. Looking forward to what you post in the coming year. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Fame and Fortune « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

