Skip to content

Apple Pancakes

February 6, 2012

In my quest to use up my buttermilk, it seemed logical to make buttermilk pancakes on the weekend.   I came across an interesting recipe on Allrecipes through the magic of their ingredient search (you can specific one or more ingredients that you want, as well as ingredients that you don’t want) but the reviews pointed out several flaws, so I did a lot of tweaking.   They turned out fabulously.  And then because I added applesauce I decided to emphasize that with the addition of cinnamon and also came up with an apple topping.  It was like eating apple pie for breakfast, but better for you.  Best Waffles I’ve Ever Eaten, I may have found you some weekend breakfast competition.

Maple-Cinnamon-Oat Pancakes

(makes 9-10 medium pancakes)

1/2 cup oat flour*

2 tbsp quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

1 tbsp canola oil or melted butter

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 1/3 cups buttermilk

oil or butter for greasing pan

In a medium mixing bowl, combine together oats, flours, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  In a small mixing bowl, stir together egg, applesauce, oil, syrup, and buttermilk.  Pour wet ingredients into dry and stir until just combined.

Heat a frying pan over low heat until a drop of cold water sizzles.  Grease lightly with oil or butter and cook pancakes.  Top with apple topping if desired.

*To make oat flour, grind oats in a blender.  You will need slightly more than 1/2 cup oats to make 1/2 cup oat flour.

Apple Pancake Topping

(serves one)

1 tsp butter

1/2 apple, diced

2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce

1 tbsp apple juice

1/2 tbsp maple syrup

dash of cinnamon

Melt butter in a small frying pan.  Add apples and saute until they start to soften.  Stir in remaining ingredients and heat through.  Serve over pancakes.

Chai has decided he likes to sit on my desk and supervise me in the kitchen from there,

as I refuse to let him on the counter.

If you like the look of these, you may also be interested in Banana Pancakes.

What kind of pancakes do you like?  What do you put on them?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 9:50 pm

    Man, I miss pancakes. Sigh.

  2. Ed Golem permalink
    February 7, 2012 6:24 am

    A family favourite at our house were potatoe pancakes. These were used as an evening meal and were fairly heavy and from an era where the eaters would have worked off all the excess carbs and fat before or after the meal. They were made with grated raw potatoe, an egg, a little flour and some shortening. They were thin, browned on both sides and eaten with a dolop of butter and a cup of coffee. I am sure your grandfather Russell would have enjoyed many of these very simple dinners at his parental farm home. Real comfort food for me.

  3. February 8, 2012 4:05 pm

    I LOVE BRUNO’S PANCAKES. That is really the only pancake recipe I use. I am not loyal to any particular waffle recipe, but you can’t mess with my pancakes.

    I usually just have margarine on my pancakes as a topping, but sometimes I get crazy and have raspberry or lingonberry jam. I use toppings more for crepes (hot apple, various fresh fruits, etc), there is a great crepe recipe in The Joy of Cooking.

Leave a Reply

