Skip to content

Buttermilk Biscuits

February 5, 2012

When I bought buttermilk to make the birthday cake I was looking forward to baking other things to use up the rest of it.  To my recollection, I was always coming across great recipes that used buttermilk but was never able to make them.  But I quickly realised that I should have made an Excel spreadsheet of those recipes, because when I thought about it I couldn’t come up with anything in particular I wanted to make.  Eventually I decided that I wanted another batch of biscuits, so instead of my usual cheese biscuit recipe (make with plain yoghurt) I sought out a buttermilk biscuit recipe.  These seemed to rise a little higher than my normal biscuits and tasted just as good.  I will make them again if I ever need to use up buttermilk.

Buttermilk Biscuits

(adapted from the Fanny Farmer Baking Book*)

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup cold butter

2/3 cup shredded cheddar, optional

2/3 cup buttermilk

Preheat  oven to 425° F.   In a medium mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Cut in the butter using a pastry blender, fork, or your fingers, until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add cheese if using.  Add in the buttermilk all at once and stir just until the dough comes together. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured board and knead just enough for the dough to come together.  (You may need a small drizzle more of buttermilk to get all the dry ingredients incorporated, particularly if you add the cheese.)  Pat into a 1/2″thick square. Cut into four squares, then cut each square diagonally to form 8 triangles.  Place close to each other on a baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes.  If you’ve used the cheese, be sure to remove them from the baking sheet quickly, before the cheese hardens on.

*The original recipe is available online, so that is why I feel able to post my version of it.  Normally I don’t post cookbook recipes unless I’ve made a ton of changes.)

More buttermilk-containing recipes to come!

Did you know that buttermilk you buy isn’t actually a byproduct of butter-making?  It is cultured by adding a bacteria.  I just learned that last year, silly me.

What do you do with buttermilk?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2012 6:04 pm

    I bought some buttermilk to use in a bread recipe I had, but then I didn’t end up making the bread. So, when the buttermilk was almost expired, I used it in some pasta sauce… it was very tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Seeded Cornmeal Biscuits « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

