Skip to content

Roasted Red Pepper-Squash Soup

January 30, 2012

I had a lovely Sunday afternoon yesterday, baking English muffins for the first time since I got back to Canada (oh, English muffins, how I’ve missed you) and making soup.

A couple of weeks ago I made my wonderful butternut squash soup again and was happy to have it in my freezer for fast meals.  It is so good!  But all good things must come to an end… well, anyhow, recently I ate the last serving.  I bought another butternut from my friend at the farmers’ market but decided I should switch things up a bit.  While working in Nebraska one of the other field techs made a delicious soup that I am pretty sure was roasted red pepper and butternut, so I went on a hunt for a similar recipe.  I quickly decided upon the one that also had roasted garlic.  I’ve never roasted garlic before (yeah, I know, where have I been?) so this seemed like a great place to start.  By the way, roasting it mellows out the flavour considerably, so putting an entire head into the soup isn’t as crazy as it sounds.

The soup is velvety squash goodness with a nice roasted red pepper flavour.  I only used one red pepper, but I also reserved part of my squash for another recipe.  The next time I made this I’d add a second pepper.  It would also make it an even prettier reddish tinge.  This soup involves a fair amount of time, as there is a mult-step roasting process, but it is great for a rainy or snowy day off when you have other things you want to do while the various components are in the oven (such as reading, working on your knitting, entertaining the cat, or pinning craft ideas… 😉 )

Roasted Red Pepper-Squash Soup

(inspired by Manifest Vegan, makes about 6-7 servings)

 1 butternut squash

1 head garlic

1-2 red peppers

1 tbsp canola oil

1 onion, chopped

water as needed

salt and pepper to taste

To roast the butternut squash, preheat oven to 375°F.  Cut squash in half, scoop out seeds, and place in large baking dish, cut side down.  Add boiling water to cover the bottom of the pan.  Roast for about an hour, or until a knife pierces the flesh very easily.

To roast the garlic, increase oven temperature to 425°F.  Remove the outer papery skin but leave the head intact.  Cut off the top 1/4″ of the cloves.  Wrap in foil, place on a baking sheet, and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until top is golden and garlic is soft.  Unwrap and let cool.

To roast the red pepper, move the oven rack to the top position. Turn on the broiler.   Line a baking sheet with foil.  Cut off the top and bottom 1/4″ of the pepper.  Remove the stem.  Make a cut down the side of the pepper, open it up, and cut off the inner membranes.  Remove all seeds.  Place all pieces skin side up on the baking sheet, flattening the big strip with your hand.   If the pepper will be more than 3 1/2″ from the broiler, place a second rimmed baking sheet, upside-down, under the pan to elevate it.  Broil 10-15 minutes or until skin is blackened.  Once the pepper is done, put it in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap to steam it for 15 minutes, making the skin easier to remove.   Peel off skin.

Add oil to a large pot over medium heat.  Once hot, add onion and cook, stirring, until softened.  Scoop out squash flesh and add to pot.   Add in red peppers.  Peel garlic cloves and add in.  Add 3 cups water.    Transfer to a blender and blend in batches, or blend in the pot with an immersion blender.  Return to pot and heat gently, seasoning with salt and pepper to taste.

An immersion blender is on my Christmas list for next year! 🙂

I’ve decided that I really like thick, smooth soups.  (I just found out the proper term is “puree.”)   I just don’t have a hankering for the chunky type at all right now. 😉  Next I think I might make try making a carrot soup, or maybe sweet potato.

What’s your favourite kind of soup? Any puree soup suggestions for me?

What do you do with roasted garlic or roasted red pepper?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 6:22 am

    I just made this!! Seriously, this morning, I threw some pre-roasted butternut, garlic and tomatoes into my blender with tons of spices. It is kind of a thai curry type soup.

    I am all about the purees, but I generally add some fresh veggies and/or meat to it also. I added some steamed broccoli, spaghetti squash and shredded turkey to this for lunch today. I can’t wait.

  2. January 31, 2012 6:18 pm

    You should win the lottery and buy a Vitamix blender. You can make all sorts of wonderful purees and soups and smoothies. We don’t have one but Rachelle had one. I never used it though, except maybe for a couple of smoothies. I don’t like cleaning blender machines.

    My favourite soups to make are a hearty tomato (not cream of tomato, gross) with fresh veggies and either chicken or beef. And also a chicken broth soup with wontons and whatever Chinese veggies are in season.

    And I still like Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom and Bean With Bacon, even though they are probably full of all sorts of preservatives and sodium and stuff like that.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 1, 2012 6:46 pm

    We tried Low Sodium Bean with Bacon and it is not very tasty!
    Jillian you could collect money for a good blender – like you do for camera lens 🙂

Leave a Reply

