Skip to content

A Walk on the Beach

January 17, 2012

During my time in Tortuguero,  Costa Rica, I lived just metres from the beach– the Caribbean Sea.  Here on Vancouver Island I am again less than 2 minutes walk from the beach– the Strait of Georgia.   When I can I take Chai for a little walk on his leash in the yard but he is too scared (and too slow, as he has to sniff everything) to make it to the beach.  So when I go for walks on the beach here I am alone.  In Tortuguero I often had company in the form of my favourite ticos, Dukie and Shaggy.

a walk with the boys on my birthday

They often ran ahead,

playing with each other.

I don’t think that Dukie and Shaggy particularly liked each other at first,   so it was neat to see them become friends through hanging out with us.

usually I only saw tiny crabs on the beach, but one walk I found this bigger one

a coconut waiting to be washed away to sprout on another shore

ah, Dukie, I miss you (and the warm Tortuguero weather!)

  Have you been for a walk on the beach lately? 

What’s your favourite beach to walk on?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bee permalink
    January 18, 2012 6:42 am

    three of us are headed to Tortuguero next month….we are birders and dog lovers. maybe we’ll run into Dukie and Shaggy on the beach! we’re also hoping to connect with my
    granddaughter amanda gallinat who is working with the costa rica bird observatories now through march. love your blog, altho i’m not a cook. thnx for your posts!

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 18, 2012 10:56 am

    Thanks for the photos. I’ve been waiting for more photos from Costa Rica. Love the crab. I am looking forward to walking on your beach. I hope Chai will come along too.

Leave a Reply

