Skip to content

Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry

January 16, 2012

I’m always on the lookout for new cooking and baking ideas.  My cookbook collection, cookbooks from the library, Allrecipes, magazines, blogs, friends & family, and now Pinterest.  A few days ago I shared a smoothie recipe I had first found in a grocery store flyer.  Then this week’s flyer had another interesting-looking recipe for a vegetarian stew, featuring cauliflower, of which I had just bought a huge head for 98 cents.  I was curious to see if it was as quick to make as it claimed– 27 minutes for prep and cook time.  And indeed– less than half an hour after I started to assemble the ingredients it was ready.  And not only is it quick and easy, it is good.

Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry

(makes 2 servings, adapted from a Thrifty Foods flyer)

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/2 medium onion, chopped

1/3 head cauliflower, cut into small florets

1 medium red bell pepper, cut into 1″ pieces

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger

1 tablespoon mild curry paste

1 1/2 cups chickpeas

1/2 of a 400 mL can coconut milk or low-fat coconut milk

1/4 cup water

1/2 tablespoon corn starch

1/2 cup frozen peas

salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a frying pan or wok over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for about 2 minutes. Add in the cauliflower, peppers, garlic and ginger. and cook for 3 to 4 more minutes.  Add the curry paste and cook 1 to 2 minutes more. Combine the coconut milk, water, and cornstarch, then add to pan, along with the chickpeas.   Bring to a simmer and continue simmering until the vegetables are cooked through, about 5 minutes. Mix in the peas and heat through. Season with salt and pepper.   Serve over basmati rice or other rice, couscous, and/or with warm naan bread.

I’d definitely make this again, but I would likely add more vegetables, such as carrot, green beans, or celery.

Where do you find new recipes?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 17, 2012 8:31 am

    It certainly looks good. I can always find new recipies on my daughter’s blog 🙂
    Did Chai like it?

  2. January 17, 2012 8:44 pm

    I usually find new recipes in my head. Or I will think of something and then do an Internet search for a recipe (I have no loyalties to any particular food websites).

    As you know, I am not a fan of most legumes. I also am sadly allergic to red peppers. Have you ever tried roasted cauliflower? I have heard that it is delicious. However, I do not enjoy cauliflower burps so I tend to stay away from it.

    Do you like Chinese noodles? I am on the search for some good ones. Limited selection here but I am thinking I should try some of the weird ones I have never had before. Alex asked me today why we couldn’t just use spaghetti noodles.

Leave a Reply

