Skip to content

Vegetarian Chili

January 14, 2012

When I was a kid, I didn’t really like chili.  I still don’t really like regular chili, with ground beef.  But this chili?  It is so good.  Plus it’s low-fat and packed full of protein and fibre.  It is definitely a staple for me– the recipe makes 8 servings, so I can stash serving-sized containers in the freezer, and have a supply of  great quick meals for a long time to come.    It is excellent served with rice and also good with cornbread, cheese biscuits, or homemade bread.  This recipe has helped me through several field seasons.

Jillian’s Vegetarian Chili

(makes 8 servings, adapted from Allrecipes)

1 tbsp canola oil

1/2 onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 carrots, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

1 1/2 cups water

1 (796 mL/ 28 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (213 mL/ 7 oz) can tomato sauce

1 (156 mL/ 5.5 oz) can tomato paste

3 tablespoons chili powder, or to taste (this amount is on the milder side)

2 teaspoons mustard powder

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon ground cumin

pepper to taste

2 cups red kidney beans*

1 1/2 cups pinto beans

1 1/2 cups black beans

1 cup small white beans

1 cup chick peas

1  cup corn

In a dutch oven or other large pot, heat oil.  Add onion and carrot and saute for a few minutes.  Add garlic and celery and saute until all the vegetables are soft.  Add water, canned tomatoes (including liquid), tomato sauce, tomato paste, and spices.   Add beans and corn.  Taste and adjust seasonings.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.

It it will taste best after it has time to sit overnight.  Also good with a little shredded cheese.

*This will work with any combination of beans, as long as they equal about 6-8 cups total.  When I am using canned beans I often use 1 (540 mL/ 19 oz)  can each of kidney beans, black beans, and chickpeas.  If you would like to used dried beans but are unfamiliar with cooking them, I have instructions here.  You can cook and freeze beans plain so they are then as convenient as canned.

While I was cooking beans, Chai was practicing his spelling.

What’s a meal you like to make and freeze for future fast meals?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2012 7:30 pm

    Reblogged this on Eating Anything Interesting.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 15, 2012 7:52 am

    Good job Chai 🙂

  3. January 15, 2012 9:03 am

    I hated chilli when I was growing up too. My parents always put macaroni noodles in it, which I think is just weird.

  4. January 15, 2012 8:42 pm

    I have never liked chili, and I don’t like kidney beans or chickpeas or other weird beans… so generally I don’t eat meals like this. Alex has a chili recipe that he makes that starts with a can of tomato soup. But I should point out that I make fun of him often because it seems like all of his recipes start with a can of tomato soup (lasgne, spaghetti, etc…). I don’t like the texture of these kinds of beans. But I LOVE edamame, and I like Mom’s greenie beanies and yellow beans from the garden. Sometimes I make a soup that is kind of chili-ish, it includes a can of diced tomatoes, ground beef, and other assorted veggies like corn, potatoes, celery, really whatever is on hand. But no chili-kind-of-beans. Ew.

Leave a Reply

