Skip to content

Getting Crafty

January 13, 2012

This year, I want to be more creative.  I enjoy creating things in the kitchen, but the results usually disappear within a day or two.  I want to get more crafty and artsy.  In the past few years I made a lot of card with my photographs and I’ve knit a bit.  But I want to knit more.   Recently I got an old Singer sewing machine for $10 from a thrift store, as even though I haven’t used a sewing machine since I was 15 (half my lifetime ago!),  I want to relearn how to sew.  I want to get back into painting.  And I want to make more random crafty things.  Mainly bird things. 😉

So today I have a tiny craft project to share with you.  My mum had the idea of putting up mini clotheslines and using mini clothespins to hang cards up years ago.   So today when I was thinking about displaying cards it occurred to me that was the perfect way to do it.

It works best if you have a narrow wall space to hang them across (like here beside my furnace!), such as between a window and a corner.   The mini clothespins came from a dollar store (quite a few years ago, so hopefully they are still available if you like the idea.)  The bird cutouts were from my sister Pamela and can be printed off here.  The teacups were made by my sister Michelle.

Organizing craft supplies with Chai’s “help”

I’ve added a “Crafts” category– hopefully I will have more posts to add to it!   As for now, I’m working on making some of these cool felt owls.

Do you craft, knit, or sew?  Are you an artist of some sort? 

What are you currently working on?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    January 13, 2012 8:17 pm

    I forgot to say on the phone that you are sure getting lots of blog posts done these days! I’m sure it’s nice to have time to do things you haven’t had time for in awhile. I have those felt owls “pinned” in Pinterest too. The clothesline looks nice.

  2. January 14, 2012 4:45 am

    This is such a great idea! I’m really over my thumb tack hanging of things, this is so much lovelier.
    I like to knit and sew (I’m a potter by trade, but don’t have a place to do it-or time..)
    I sew more often than I knit though…
    Chai is so beautiful and reminds me so much of my Cocoa. 🙂

  3. January 14, 2012 8:01 am

    I do some crafts every now and then. 😉

  4. January 14, 2012 12:55 pm

    I have been known to make a few crafts… :). I have been working on “Dream Stripes” for a couple of months, it is a striped triangular shawl-type scarf. It’s thin yarn on thin needles and is taking FOREVER! Next up I am planning to make the sweater “Solstice Stag”.

    This year I hope to get a bit of sewing done. I bought some fabric when I was in Ontario after Christmas, but I need to wait until after report cards are done.

    I have a plain bulletin board I tack things up on. But I do still have my little clothes pins & sometimes I think about putting them up again, it’s been awhile!

  5. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 14, 2012 1:39 pm

    I am so glad Chai is leanrning to craft. Something for him to do while you are at work. I starated learning a new kind of crochetting before Christmas but haven’t got back to that. I think I will knit up the other skein of blue “yarn” into another scarf. Everyone at work likes mine so I could have a draw for this one 🙂
    I keep thinking about getting at some sewing but so far it is just thinking.

Leave a Reply

