Skip to content

Ginger-Kiwi-Citrus Smoothie

January 11, 2012

Several of the baking blogs I occasionally check out recently did posts that mentioned the time, amount of supplies, and cost of ingredients that went into running their blogs last year.  Seriously, 450 eggs and 200 lbs of butter$5500 in food props?  I know my photos aren’t beautiful, but Chai makes a cute prop, right?  Okay, well, I do look for cool dishes in 2nd hand stores, but I would do that, blog or not.   And the food I make is just food I’d be making regardless. (Actually, I am rather jealous that I can’t make all the cakes that I wish I could!)

“Me loves smoovies!”

It’s citrus time in the grocery store.  I went a little crazy, I think, as my fridge is stocked with grapefruit, oranges, Meyer lemons, and lime.  Plus kiwis were on sale, too.  Oh, and apples.  But I’ve got fruit salad plans, baking plans… and a perfect smoothie recipe.

Ginger-Kiwi-Citrus Smoothie

(makes one, adapted from a Thrifty Foods flyer)

1/2 banana, cut into chunks, preferably frozen*

2 kiwis, cut in half and scooped out

1 medium orange, cut into chunks

1 tsp lime zest

1/2 tbsp lime juice

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

1/2 to 3/4 cup plain yoghurt, soft tofu or equivalent

honey or sweetener of choice, optional

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth, adding more yoghurt if necessary.  Taste and adjust ginger, zest, lime juice, and sweetener to your liking.  (I didn’t add any sweetener.)

*I am assuming you are smart and I don’t have to include instructions to peel your fruit!

One of my Christmas presents was a Microplane kitchen rasp and I absolutely love it.   It is great for zesting citrus, grating ginger, and grating parmesan.  I’ve also used it to grate chocolate to sprinkle on ice cream.  Thanks, Mum! (The citrus juicer I bought with Christmas money last year– also extremely useful and effective.)

If you’ve gone overboard on citrus, you might want to try baking a delicious Chocolate-Orange Marble-Cake.

What are some of your favourite kitchen gadgets?  Bloggers– do you buy props specifically for your food photos?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bunny Eats Design permalink
    January 11, 2012 1:15 pm

    Chai makes an adorable prop. Do you have to do much coaxing to get him/her to comply?

    I love my microplane too. It’s a bit of a pain to clean, but it’s a breeze to use. The food I made is what I eat, but I like to use the blog as an excuse to make things out of my comfort zone on a regular basis. The more I take photos of my food, the more I naturally think about making food that looks pretty.

  2. January 11, 2012 9:20 pm

    Holy crap. I definitely spend more than I would if I weren’t blogging, but only because I’d probably bake less. Or would I? Who knows….

    I only buy second hand “props” too. But I only have a handful of those as it is. I’m not a good blogger, it seems.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 13, 2012 7:47 am

    Chai it is so great you are there to get in on the photos. I can’t say I’ve ever tried a smoothie. Perhaps you and your Auntie can make me one when I visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

