Skip to content

Oven Fries

January 7, 2012

A long time ago I came across this blog post about making baked french fries.  I’d tried making them before, but they never ended up very fry-like.   So inspired, I intended to try again, but laziness got to me and time passed and I went to the field and… well, I never made any oven fries last year.

But newly having my own fully-equipped kitchen again, I am excited about cooking, plus I have a new Christmas mandoline.  I was excited about trying its julienne function.  Except my mandoline blade isn’t adjustable, and it turns out it’s too thin to make fries.  (It is also too thick to make potato chips.  But I can think of other things for which it will be the right height.  However, let that be a lesson to you when choosing a mandoline!)

I decided to do my research to increase my chances at success, so in the end I combined wisdom learned from Lukas Volger’s post, Cook’s Illustrated Perfect Vegetables (seriously, do yourself a favour and get that cookbook now– I consult it all the time when cooking vegetables), and an old Chatelaine recipe I have pasted in my cookbook.

And success!  Delicious, crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside french fries to go with my homemade chicken nuggets.

Oven Fries

1-2 russet potatoes per person (depending on size and how much of a pig you are about fries!)

1 tbsp canola oil (adding more as necessary, depending on how many potatoes you are cooking)

salt and pepper to taste

Scrub potatoes, peel if desired, and cut into even 1/4″  matchsticks.  Rinse under cold water to remove starch.  Place in a bowl (or a glass loaf pan works well) and cover with very hot tap water.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, preheat oven to 450°F. Place baking sheet inside oven.  Drain potatoes, rinse again, and then pat dry with paper towels.  Wipe the bowl dry, then return potatoes to bowl.  Drizzle with oil, season, and toss gently to coat.

Carefully remove hot baking sheet from oven and spread fries on it.  Return to oven.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Use a spatula or tongs to turn them, then continue roasting 5 to 15 minutes more, until evenly golden.   Serve.

Do you want fries with that? 😉

Last chance to enter the stainless steel drinking straw giveaway!  I’ll allow entries up until the time I edit that post to say that the giveaway is closed.  The winner will be posted sometime tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 8:35 pm

    They look good!

  2. January 8, 2012 8:09 am

    I really want a mandoline now. I had one, but it was a cheapy version.

  3. Janet permalink
    January 10, 2012 8:42 am

    what is the purpose of soaking it in hot tap water, do you suppose?

Leave a Reply

