Skip to content

Baked Oatmeal (and a Free Giveaway!)

January 1, 2012

I didn’t stay up and usher the new year in.  Hey, it’s going to be 2012 all year long, right?  Besides, I preferred to get up at a decent hour and start the year right, with waffles and a smoothie.  Then I took Chai for a little walk on his leash and then went for a longer walk by myself on the beach.

But speaking of breakfast items, I want to share the breakfast I had on Christmas morning– baked oatmeal.  I am not much of a fan of regular oatmeal– it’s just so bland and gooey.  But baked oatmeal is like eating a bowl of soft oatmeal cookie.  This is the recipe from the summer camp I worked in the kitchen at when I was 18, but I experimented with reducing the sugar and oil to the bare minimum necessary to keep it delicious, which ended up being half what the original called for.   It isn’t very sweet (despite still having a fair amount of sugar) so if you want it sweeter, I recommend topping it with some fresh or frozen fruit.

Baked Oatmeal

(makes about 6-8 servings)

1/2 cup sugar or evaporated cane juice

1/4 cup canola oil

2 eggs

1 cup milk

3 cups quick-cooking oats

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400 °F.  In an 8″ x8″ pan, mix together sugar, oil, and eggs.  Stir in milk.  Stir in oats, baking powder, and salt.  Bake 30 minutes.

This can easily be halved and baked in a loaf pan.

Serve with milk and fruit, if desired.  Leftovers are good for refrigerating and reheating the following days for breakfast– fast and delicious!

And speaking of smoothies… I use a reusable stainless steel drinking straw whenever I drink one.  And I have one to give away to a lucky reader!  (It’ll be great if you’ve resolved to reduce your waste production this year! 😉 )  To enter to win, leave a comment on this post telling me about either a) a New Year’s resolution you made or b) your favourite breakfast food(s). You can also get an additional entry by blogging about this giveaway (come back her and leave another comment telling me that you did.)  The entry deadline is January 7th, 2012 and I’ll annouce the winner on the 8th.   This contest is open to those with Canadian or U.S. mailing addresses only.

UPDATE: Contest is now closed.

Chai’s resolutions include not bothering me when I am sleeping and trying to figure a way to make me give him more treats.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 9:47 pm

    Fun! I have a smoothie for breakfast morning so stainless steel straw would be fab. The smoothie usually consists of:

    -almond milk
    -almond butter
    -kale
    -frozen bananas
    -flax seed

    And I resolve to spend January detoxing all of the unhealthy food I just ate over the past 2 weeks!

  2. January 1, 2012 11:28 pm

    I don’t plan on dieting or doing vigorous exercise since I’m expecting, but I do want to become a little more active and eat healthier this year. I don’t necessarily gorge on junk food. I just need to pay a little more attention to food labels better. 🙂

  3. January 2, 2012 4:48 am

    Wow, what a lovely, healthy breakfast following the heavy eating of Christmas! I’m afraid I don’t do resolutions 😦

  4. Janet permalink
    January 2, 2012 2:44 pm

    Fave breakfast food? Coffee. Oh, and homemade hash browns, topped with cheese, veggies, and scrambled eggs.

  5. January 2, 2012 4:07 pm

    I don’t want to be entered (I already use a glass straw), but I wanted to say that I LOVE that you were asleep at midnight. I said the exact same thing about it being 2012 all year long too. 😀

  6. Pamela permalink
    January 3, 2012 8:22 am

    My favourite breakfast, and Savannah’s as well, is WAFFLES! Complete with strawberries and Nutriwhip (since whipped cream is not an option.) S also has syrup on hers, but I think that is nasty. I don’t do resolutions. Around here we just try to be the best we can each day. Also, you know we try to be environmentally conscious with recycling, air drying laundry as much as possible, etc.

  7. Pamela permalink
    January 3, 2012 8:32 am

    Okay, you are blogged about now too! 😀

  8. January 4, 2012 6:54 am

    My New Years resolution is to stop having so much stuff. I’m going to be more vigilant about recycling/composting and actually get rid of things- like clothing I never wear or books I never read- these items are given to thrift stores.

    • January 8, 2012 12:55 pm

      Sounds like a good idea! I always have a pile of stuff to take to the thrift store… but it takes me a long time to get it there (even though in the meantime I am going to thrift stores and bringing home more stuff…)

Trackbacks

  1. Oven Fries « Birds and Baking
  2. Oatmeal Pancakes « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

