Skip to content

Christmas Cookies

December 20, 2011

For those of you who have subscribed because you were interested in my Costa Rican adventures, although I am back in Canada, there will be more posts to come.   I flew back just about 2 weeks ago now, but I was busy getting over some weird cold/flu-like illness, visiting family, and moving myself and my cat 1700 km from my parents’ back to Vancouver Island.  After 3 days unpacking now I am back to work at the tree nursery.  So as you can see, I haven’t had time for blogging yet.

But since Christmas is just “5 more sleeps away” as I just heard on the radio, I thought I’d interrupt the Costa Rican posts with some baking.

Years ago, my sister Pamela gave me a gift tag that was also a recipe card for these cookies.  They are one of my favourite Christmas cookies as they are soft, only slightly sweet, and deliciously almond-flavoured. The originals are crescent-shaped but every time I make them that way they look funny.  So this time (to take for my first day back at work) I just made them round.  (A coworker asked me if I walked off the plane and started baking– not quite!  But I have been baking-deprived for a while so I was eager to start! ;) )

Snow-covered Almond Cookies

(makes about 30 cookies)

1/2 of a 250-g package cream cheese, softened

6 tbsp butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar or evaporated cane juice

1 tsp  vanilla

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 cup plus 2 tbsp all-purpose  flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup  slivered or sliced almonds, finely chopped

icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar) for dusting

Place cream cheese, butter, sugar, and extracts in a medium mixing bowl.  Beat with a mixer until well blended. Add flour and baking soda; mix well. Stir in almonds.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Roll dough into 1″ balls.  Place  on ungreased baking sheets; flatten slightly.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to cooling racks; sprinkle with powdered sugar using a sifter or sieve.

My other favourite Christmas cookies are my family’s whipped shortbread.

What are some of your favourite Christmas cookies?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    December 20, 2011 10:27 pm

    Glad I managed to give you a recipe that was useful! Unlike this year’s book 😦 I didn’t realize when you were making the crescent (moon) shaped cookies they were from that gift tag!!!

  2. Ed Golem permalink
    December 21, 2011 5:57 am

    It would have to be shortbread too. When I was a kid at home in Shaunavon your Great Grandmother would always send over a large round cookie tin of her sugar cookies and one of molasses cookies. Those for many years were my favourite. I have the sugar cookie recipe if you would like it.

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    December 21, 2011 9:16 am

    Those really are good cookies. Glad you are bake to baking 🙂 Did Chai make a special one lilke Blackberry did? Michelle now has the special cookie she made 🙂

  4. December 22, 2011 4:32 pm

    I like regular shortbread (I still think whipped shortbread tastes gross), and almond drops! Mmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

