Skip to content

S’mores

November 27, 2011

Really?  It’s been almost a month since my last blog post?  I’m sorry.  I know you all are anxiously checking back every day for a new post. 😉  My computer was acting like it was on the verge of dying completely but now is back working as if nothing has ever been wrong.  I hope it stays  this way!

I have many topics and a fair number of pictures to blog about, and I hope I will be able to do a lot of posts in my few remaining days here in Costa Rica.  Only 10 days and I’ll be back in Canada!

But for now I am just going to tide you over with a kind of a lame post about s’mores.

In Costa Rica, all the prepackaged cookies come in serving-sized packs.  My mum cleverly deduced that is probably to do with the humidity– and she’s right.  If I only eat one or two of the three or four cookies in a pack, and save the rest for later, they very quickly become stale and soggy.  I can’t recall the last time I bought cookies in Canada, but here we eat a lot of them as they are provided for us in Tortuguero and at our other sites they are easy portable snacks as well.  My favourite are the Fibra y Miel (bran and honey) that aren’t too sweet.  They are basically graham crackers and provided us with inspiration to make s’mores.  We don’t really have the ability to bake here so we have been eager to come up with other dessert-making ideas.  Toasting marshmallows over the wood stove at Madre Selva was a fabulous idea. (I loved the wood stove.  Lifting the burners and adding another log always reminded me of my gramma’s wood stove.)

my turn toasting

Morgan making a marshmallow

some of our bands came on thick copper wire, which seemed like a good implement to use (hopefully food-safe!)

melty goodness

 Costa Rican chocolate is generally terrible.  Very sweet and cheap-tasting.  (Someone gave me some little  Rico chocolate bars [rico means delicious] for my birthday and I had to force myself to actually eat them all.  They were awful.  We switched to using Nutella as the chocolate in our s’mores.

Costa Rican marshmallows are the same texture but not quite the same flavour as North American ones.  They are still delicious melted in a cup of Cocoa Dulce (hot chocolate.) And they also worked great for these:

Popcorn balls!

We mixed a bag of microwave popcorn with some marshmallows melted with a gob of margarine.  Not the sort of thing you’d normally see on my blog, but mmmm, so good.

Have any of you done any real baking lately?  What have you made?

I’m looking forward to getting back to having an oven!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    November 27, 2011 6:38 pm

    The popcorn balls look delicious!! 😀 Too bad the chocolate there is nasty.

    The best parts of this blog are : you spelled hopefully, “hoefully” and “a gob of margarine!”
    It’s sure not like the rest of your posts. Have a lovely time for your last few days there.

  2. November 27, 2011 8:34 pm

    I remember all the junk food kind of tasting like crap. Glad you found some nutella though. And those popcorn balls sound awesome! Coming from someone who hates popcorn balls too, so that’s saying something.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    November 27, 2011 9:37 pm

    Nice to see a photo of you again Jillian. 🙂 I would like the wood burning stove too. I am surprised you are eating all that sweet stuff 🙂 I bought some Parkay block marg for you incase you’d like to bake – I ran out of what I’d bought on sale a couple years ago!! This was $7.49 so I hope you do some baking!!

  4. November 28, 2011 11:53 am

    Oh, those popcorn balls look GOOD. I think the last time I made them was in Girl Guides… I might have to try them sometime soon.

    I find a lot of good recipes from Mom list the ingredient “gob of margarine”.

    • November 28, 2011 3:41 pm

      I purposely wrote “a gob of margarine” as it is something Mum would say. In normal life I’d use butter. And non-microwave popcorn. But it’s not like the marshmallow are natural foods either. The “recipe” is based off a popcorn cake recipe in the Girl Guide cookbook, which I haven’t made in about a decade (I think I went through a popcorn cake phase in university.)

Leave a Reply

