Skip to content

Non-birds

October 30, 2011

There is more to Costa Rica than just cool birds.  Mammal-wise I’ve seen Spider and Howler monkeys, neotropical river otters, some kind of crazy tropical squirrel, and an agouti. I’ve also seen dolphins.  And three-toed sloths!  But so far I haven’t had any luck getting any mammal pictures.  But here are a few photos of other kinds of creatures:

Strawberry poison dart frog

Often the species has blue legs, but the ones that I have seen don’t seem to have much blue on them.

male Green Iguana (the females and young are green)

Several males hang out in the yard here.  This one is about 4 feet long.

I don’t know what this lizard is (also in the yard here.)  It was about a foot long, I think.

male Yell0w-headed Gecko

Except that his head is orange.  And don’t get him confused with the dwarf yell0w-headed gecko, an African species.  This is the first one I’ve seen.  The house geckos are more common, and plainer-coloured, but they are pretty shy and fast-moving, so I don’t have pictures of them.  We hear them “barking” all the time (I think they sound like they are laughing) and sometimes they fall off the back of the toilet stall door when I close it, startling me, and freaking them out.  And their poo drops out of nowhere onto the table.  So far none has fallen onto my plate!

There are many other lizards around as well, and I’ve seen a couple tiny snakes.  But thankfully no Eyelash vipers or Fer-de-lances.

A tiny crab

These are all over the beach, and sometimes in my room.  But I prefer finding them to finding scorpions in my room (so far I haven’t found any of those.)

Huge purple grasshopper– also on the beach

I thought the internet would help me i.d. him, but I think everyone is mis-identifying these ones as a different species.

One night earlier this month I went out with the turtle interns for the 8-12 pm shift, looking for nesting green turtles.  But the season was winding down and we didn’t find any on our stretch of beach.  I did see a dead turtle, killed two nights earlier by a jaguar.  And we did come across a nestful of hatchlings scurrying down to the water.  The turtle interns prefer finding the adult females, because they tag and measure them, but to me seeing the newly-hatched “tortugitas” heading into the sea for the first time felt very special.


5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 8:36 pm

    More than just birds?!?! Hehe.

    Actually the first time I was there, I hated birds. Shameful, I know.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    October 30, 2011 9:46 pm

    These animals are neet. I wouldn’t like to be scared in the washroom though or have poo drop down by me!! The purple grasshopper looks huge.
    Chai might like to play with one of those 🙂

  3. Janet permalink
    October 31, 2011 9:05 am

    Wow, that sounds amazing. Did you pocket a baby turtle?

    Could the mystery lizard be a type of basilisk?

  4. November 1, 2011 9:19 am

    How big is that grasshopper? The crab would make a good cartoon character.

Trackbacks

  1. A Walk on the Beach « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

