Skip to content

Bear Scat Cookies

August 29, 2011

As I mentioned earlier, I currently don’t have an oven.  So I needed a way to exercise my desire to make cookies.  Thankfully, there are a few no-bake recipes out there.

On my days off visiting my parents my mum found a bag of chow mein noodles in the cupboard, which she can’t eat anymore (because of the gluten.)  They aren’t something I typically eat anymore, either, but they brought to mind a type of cookie one of my elementary school classmate’s mother used to make.  So I googled a recipe so I could make them one rainy afternoon in my trailer— yesterday turned out to be a good day for no-baking.

After rinsing out the pot I made them in and I decided to dump it out on the road, rather than down my drain (which leads to a bucket which I eventually have to dump on the road anyway) I realised that the chocolately water likely quite the bear attractant.  I mentioned this to my coworker and later as we shared the cookies over a Scrabble game I joked that these cookies looked like what the bear would produce after licking up the gray water, hence the name.  (There is frequently bear scat on the road, but it’s mostly made up of berries these days.)

Black Bear Droppings

(makes about 15)

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (or you can use an equal combination of chocolate and butterscotch chips, or whatever flavour of chocolate you like– white chocolate for polar bear droppings?)

2 cups chow mein noodles

1 cup peanuts (or an equal combination of peanuts and raisins)

Melt chocolate in a double boiler (I put a dutch oven over a frying pan full of water) or in the microwave, stirring frequently.  Mix in remaining ingredients, stirring gently to avoid breaking the noodles too much.  When everything is well-coated, drop by spoonfuls onto waxed paper and let cool.  (A cool day is best, or you could put them in the fridge or freezer.)  Store in a cool place, away from bears. 😉

These are delicious, if you don’t like associating your cookies with poo, just call them chow mein cookies. 😉  They are more like candy than cookies.

 I’ll post a second no-bake recipe soon.

What kind of no-bake cookies/treats do you like to make?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 8:51 pm

    Who wouldn’t want to associate cookies with poo?

Leave a Reply

