Skip to content

Rainbow Chard and Quinoa

August 28, 2011

Is it still “buying local”  if you drive 200 km to get to the farmers’ market?  This weekend I headed down to Prince George to visit my aunt and uncle.  I also had the intention to stock up on groceries unavailable (or too expensive) here, and was very pleased to realise that it was Saturday and therefore the farmers’ market.

I discovered P&R Organics and looked no farther. (Okay, that’s not true.  I did check out the competition, but they had more vegetables than anyone else, and were reasonably priced as well.) I bought potatoes, cherry tomatoes, a cucumber, zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, and rainbow chard.  And then I had to stop myself.  But then I found the used book store just a few doors up the street… but that’s another story.

I didn’t feel up to making a big meal tonight after getting home but I did want to start using my vegetables so I came up with a quick recipe using rainbow chard and some of the organic quinoa my aunt had given me.

Rainbow Chard and Quinoa

(serves 1-2)

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed*

1 cup water

1 tbsp canola or olive oil

12 stalks (or more) rainbow chard, cleaned, leaf part torn into large pieces, and stalks cut into inch-long pieces

1-2 tbsp raisins

1 clove garlic, minced

salt, pepper, butter (or margarine) , and white vinegar to taste

Place quinoa and water in a small saucepan, cover, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until all water is absorbed.  Meanwhile, heat oil in a large saucepan.  Add chard stems, and cook, stirring occasionally, until partly softened, about 4 minutes.  Add leaves, raisins, and garlic; cover.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until leaves are wilted and stalks are tender, about 6 to 10 minutes.  Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper; season with butter and vinegar if desired.   Served chard over quinoa.

*The easiest way I’ve found to rinse quinoa is to use cheesecloth, as strainers are generally too coarse and you’ll get quinoa everywhere.  If your quinoa says “pre-washed” or “pre-rinsed” then you don’t have to worry about the bitter saponin coating.

If you are one of those people who asks, “Is organic really any better?” (cough, cough, Mum, cough) I don’t have a complete answer, but here’s an article about how pesticide use affects birds.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 5:57 am

    Love the bird link there, Jillian.

    I grew chard last summer, but not this summer and I miss it. I just got an email from the campus garden and they have an overstock so I’m getting some next week, I think. Can’t wait!

Trackbacks

  1. Book Review: Fresh Flavor Fast « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

