Skip to content

Summertime

August 4, 2011

 

I finished up my summer job and, over the long weekend, travelled 2100 km on to my fall job.  Fall?  Already?  It’s only August.   Yes, but birds are already on their migration south and I am working at a migration monitoring station, mist-netting, banding, and observing birds as they pass through.  From the sounds of things British Columbia has had a cool and wet summer, however since I’ve arrived it has been sunny and warm and I’ve heard several people in town say that summer has just finally arrived.  Actually, in the station narrative I have even been credited with bringing the good weather with me. 😉  So I suppose although I was a little tired of the heat by the end of my time in Saskatchewan, I could handle a little more summer.

So here are some random summery thoughts:

Summer things that make me feel like a kid again are riding a bicycle without a helmet*, drinking from a water fountain, making homemade popsicles, and eating watermelon and nectarines, the juice invariably running down my chin (and likely dribbling on my shirt, because I seem to be a helpless slob when it comes to spilling food on me.)

The taste of fresh raspberries reminds me of summertime visits to my Gramma’s house and her garden.

I feel a small surge of triumph every time I kill a mosquito.  (I am destined to kill many, many mosquitoes as they are determined to invade my trailer here, so I should feel quite victorious by the time they die off for another year.)

I love the dappled sunlight that filters through trees (something I rarely got to appreciate out on the prairies.)

I love summer thunderstorms when I am safely inside.

I love picking flowers and making bouquets.

Waffle cones and chocolate dipped vanilla soft-serve are amazing.

What are some of your summer highlights or summer memories?

*We use bicycles to check the set of nets slightly up the road from the banding lab and don’t wear helmets.  However, under any other bicycling circumstances I do wear a helmet and I heartily suggest that you do, too.  😉

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 6:57 am

    I have gotten out of the helmet habit lately, since my bike commute is only 3/4 mile on a road that I rarely see cars on. I know….excuses, excuses….

    Thunderstorms are the best. The smell of fresh cut grass, laying on a blanket on the grass (or beach) reading a book, and watermelon spitting contests.

    Baseball games, eating outside, ice cream, pools, beaches. I love summer.

  2. Michelle permalink
    August 5, 2011 11:09 am

    I like how it smells like dirt after it rains. And I like snuggling with cats in the grass. And eating fresh carrots and cucumbers and raw peas straight from the garden. And not having to wear socks.

    • Jennie Frances permalink
      August 10, 2011 11:02 am

      You would be laying in water in the grass here this year Michelle. The smell after a rain is wonderful – smelling too much this year!! 😉 Hopefully there are a few fresh veggies that survive in the weeds to try. Not wearing socks to work in runners going to work wouldn’t work! Barefoot days as a kid were nice. Making pads on your feed with poplar stickers – did you ever do that?? 🙂

  3. Janet permalink
    August 5, 2011 6:25 pm

    Sandal season!!

Leave a Reply

