Skip to content

Homemade Salsa

July 21, 2011

I have a dozen or so blog posts waiting to be written, but finding the time and internet to do so has been difficult.  My computer is picky about which wireless signals it will accept, including the public library’s.   But I’ll be done with the ferruginous hawk project in a week!   There may be a backlog of prairie-themed posts published when I get to the banding station in northern BC.

Here’s an easy post (and recipe) to tide you over for a bit, perfect for this hot weather and for the fresh tomatoes in stores.  I discovered this recipe in a library book in Lake Havasu City, Arizona, where chips and salsa were a data-entry necessity after a sweaty morning crawling through the tamarisk monitoring willow flycatchers.

Fresh Salsa

¼ medium yellow or white onion, finely chopped

1-2 jalapeño or Serrano chillies, finely diced

½ tbsp sugar

½ tsp salt

1 lime, juiced

1 cup finely chopped cilantro

3 Roma tomatoes, finely diced

Place onion, chillies, sugar, salt, and lime juice in a bowl and stir well.  Mix in cilantro and tomatoes.

Serve with tortilla chips or put on whatever you like.

What’s a summery food you enjoy?

P.S. No cilantro-hating comments allowed, Pamela.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    July 21, 2011 10:39 pm

    We actually just bought a bruschetta mix that makes the best bruschetta ever. It mixed spices and stuff that you just add to diced tomatoes and olive oil. Yummy!

    I’m going to try out a watermelon punch recipe in a book that Amber lent me. It’s watermelon juice, raspberries, mint leaves, orange slices and ice cubes. Looks delicious.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    July 22, 2011 7:45 am

    I would find a substitutae for the cilantro if I was making it too 🙂
    A brushetta mix sounds good. I love that. I am thinking I won’t be able to eat fresh tomoatoes anyway – unless I want to suffer for days after 😦 I amay try it anyway later on.

  3. Michelle permalink
    July 22, 2011 12:52 pm

    I like cilantro. Rachelle. Has a salsa recipe that uses cilantro, mangoes, red peppers and onions.

  4. Janet permalink
    July 24, 2011 6:23 pm

    I’ve been craving salsa, your recipe arrived with perfect timing!

    (I only made friends with cilantro in recent years)

Trackbacks

  1. Guacamole « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

