Skip to content

Pill-Will-Willet

July 5, 2011

The other day I was driving along the road where I seem to have the best wildlife sightings, such as pronghorn twins and eared grebe nests.  So I had my camera ready when I came across a willet on a fence post.  However, as I slowed down, it took off.

But not too far past it there was a second willet, also on a post, and it stayed for me.

At first he craned his neck forward as if he were contemplating taking off.

But it seemed to be his favourite post, and he decided to stay.

He complained a bit about my presence.

Then he showed off his toes.

And then finally, just as I was about to leave, he did what I was waiting for:

A good stretch, showing off his flashy underwings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 9:30 am

    Very nice pictures! I’m a VERY amateur birdwatcher but I can never get close enough to get a really good shot!

    • July 5, 2011 6:59 pm

      Thanks so much! It is definitely challenging getting close enough most of the time!

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    July 5, 2011 8:07 pm

    Nice to see the progresion

  3. elmediat permalink
    July 24, 2011 7:15 pm

    Beautiful shots. Well composed and crisp detail.

Leave a Reply

