Skip to content

Close Encounters of the Wildlife Kind

June 6, 2011

The other day I was driving down a dirt road, returning from a nest check (3 babies– the oldest looks about 13 days  old)  when I saw something weird on the road.  I swerved, and stopped, thinking it was some kind of roadkill at first (I tend to check out avian roadkill when I can.)  But looking back– no, it was a live ferruginous hawk, with a Richardson’s ground squirrel.  I though he was just going to stay there with it but he decided I was too much of a threat.

“Back off.  Get your own gopher.”

Then just to my  left in a pasture I noticed something else–

A pronghorn with twins!

They must have been fairly recently born, as even though the mom was definitely nervous about my truck stopping, the babies didn’t want to leave with her.  I got out of there fairly quickly.  (Later in the day I saw another female with one calf [fawn?  The internet won’t tell me which is correct.]  It was a hard winter for the pronghorn so it is good to see that some of them were able to carry their babies to term.  And thankfully there will be a moratorium on hunting them this year.)

And then just a little farther down that road two red foxes ran across, aparently having a race.

It’s days like that when I don’t ever want to have a desk job.

Have you had any neat wildlife sightings lately?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:31 am

    I went for a walk with Rachelle the other day and there was a lady standing in her yard with what at first looked like a kitten crawling up her leg. “Is that a baby raccoon?” I asked. “Yep, I’ve got five of ’em!”. Then she called out and four came wandering out of the bushes. She said they had been orphaned and she was raising them to solid food before giving them to a wildlife place. They have been very acclimatized to humans so I am not sure they will be releasable. But they sure are cute!

  2. June 7, 2011 7:53 am

    Its posts like these that make me not want my desk job. You are lucky!

    One of the best parts about moving is the new wildlife that I have to re-learn all about. I’m such a nerd. The birds here are so great, and I am thinking about making a trip to a marsh nearby for some birding. If I can ever start waking up early. My internal clock is all kinds of messed up still.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    June 7, 2011 8:37 am

    You are lucky to see all that in the open space of the prairie. We would rather not see the coyotes as two lambs were missing yesterday morning. The ordeal has begun.
    The twins sure are cute. Dads 4-H ewe had two of the tiniest lambs I have seen!

Trackbacks

  1. Pill-Will-Willet « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

