Skip to content

Breakfast Sausages

April 21, 2011

“Tanks for making me breakfasts.  But does me havs to use a knifes and forks?”

As I mentioned before, I am trying to consume my perishables before I leave the island.  I bought a package of local ground pork to make a certain recipe (I never buy ground pork) but never got around to making what I planned.  So  there it was in my freezer.  I decided to do an ingredient search on Allrecipes.com and came across a recipe for breakfast sausage.  It sounded easy– and it was.

If you like breakfast sausage, I think this tastes rather like them.  The texture is a little off– more like a hamburger patty than a sausage– perhaps if the pork was ground more finely?  But if you are trying to find a nitrate-free sausage alternative, this is a good place to start.

The waffles were also part of my attempt to clean out the freezer, as they contain some of the  local pumpkin puree I made in the fall.  They did not cooperate very well and I ended up throwing out several waffles and the rest of the batter– I almost never have recipes tank that badly on me.   I was pretty disappointed, but I’ll try again some other time with a different recipe.

Breakfast Sausages

(makes about 10 small patties, adapted from here)

1 lb ground pork

2 tsp dried sage, crumbled

3/4 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 1/2 tsp brown sugar

Place pork in a bowl and add spices and sugar.  Mix well.  Form into patties.  Heat a frying pan over medium heat and fry patties in batches, about 5 minutes on each side, until browned and internal temperature reaches 160*F.

What do you like for breakfast?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. SandySays1 permalink
    April 21, 2011 12:26 pm

    Hmmmm, That does look inviting. Can you sub sweetner for the Bwn Sug? My human is a Type 2 diabetic. You asked what I like for breakfast. Eggs Bokeelia, Yum! Look at my April 9 post.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays.wordpress.com

    • April 21, 2011 5:50 pm

      I actually couldn’t really taste very much sweetness, so it might work without any sweetener at all. But I would think subsituting a diabetic-friendly sweetener would work just fine.

Trackbacks

  1. Oatmeal Pancakes « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

