Skip to content

My Gramma’s Cookies

April 18, 2011

One of my most special possessions is my cookbook.  It’s a small teal binder that’s starting to come apart, crammed too full of recipes, both hand-written and clipped out of magazines.  It’s travelled with me to most of my field jobs and I’ve both acquired and passed on many recipes in the various shared kitchens I’ve cooked in.

A lot of the magazine clippings came from my gramma’s house, and I have fond memories of hours spent pouring through her enormous stack of magazines searching for interesting recipes.  But the most special ones are from her own recipe collection, copied out in her hand.

I’m in the process of cleaning out my freezer, eating up the last of my food before I move on the weekend, and I needed to use up some frozen cranberries.  I started to search for recipes online but then recalled I had a cookie recipe of my gramma’s that uses cranberries.   I’ve never actually made it myself before but I am glad that I finally tried it.  These are soft, somewhat cake-like cookies, with a bold orange and cranberry flavour.

Cranberry Softies

(makes about 16 cookies)

1/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp orange zest

pinch of salt

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

3/4 cup fresh or frozen cranberries, chopped

Preheat oven to 375*F.  Cream butter and brown sugar in a large bowl;  stir in egg, vanilla, orange zest and salt.  In a smaller bowl, combine flour and baking soda; mix into wet ingredients.  Mix in walnuts and cranberries.   Drop spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.  Cool on wire racks.

I like to say I’d grab my cookbook on the way out if the building was on fire– what’s one thing you’d rescue?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    April 19, 2011 8:00 am

    Softies!!!! That’s funny. Gramma made those cookies once for me to take back to res. with me when I was at college. The one thing I would rescue would be my laptop. Simply because that is where my photos are stored. I think that your photos would be the worst thing to lose.

  2. April 20, 2011 7:50 pm

    I am pretty sure Gramma made these for me once too to take back to school. Except they weren’t “softies” because the oven temperature was too hot.

    I think I’d probably take my jewelry box with me. It has some neat jewelry Gramma gave me. I was thinking photos would be important as well.

Leave a Reply

