Skip to content

Bird Nest Cookies

April 15, 2011

I’m leaving the island next weekend (already!) so my last day at the nursery is fast approaching.   I wanted to decorate some Easter-themed cookies to take to work but I’m not particularly a fan of the taste and texture of sugar cookies, so I tried out yet another Allrecipes.com recipe.  The recipe turned out to be exactly what I wanted.  It’s easy, tasty, and it distorts very little when baked.  So long, sugar cookies.

White Velvet Cookies
(makes approximately 3 dozen)

1 cup butter

3 oz cream cheese

1 cup granulated sugar

1 egg yolk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Cream together the butter and cream cheese, then beat in sugar until light and fluffy.  Stir in egg yolk and vanilla.  Mix in flour until well-combined.  Cover and chill for at least one hour.

Preheat oven to 350*F.  On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough and cut into desired shapes.  Place on ungreased cookie sheets and bake for 8-12 minutes, watching carefully, until edges are just lightly browned.  Cool on cookie racks and frost as desired.

I didn’t follow a particular frosting recipe; I just beat butter with a bit of vanilla and added icing sugar, then a little milk.  I made it stiffer than I would a cupcake frosting.  To make the nests I added cocoa (and a bit more milk) and piped it using a sandwich bag with a corner snipped off.   The eggs are Cadbury Micro Eggs.  I actually had a bag saved from last year– and as far I can tell, they’ve been discontinued.  I am very sad about that.   The regular Mini Eggs seem awfully big in comparison, but they would still work on a cupcake or cake.  Or a much bigger cookie.  I also made bunny cookies with my new rabbit cookie cutter but they weren’t particularly attractive, nor were my photos of them.

I love my new Wilton Daffodil Yellow paste food colouring.  It’s a vegetable dye, so there’s no tatrazine (yellow #5.)

I made bird nest cupcakes last summer with micro eggs.

Chai “helps” every time I wipe off the table, by trying to grab the cloth.  He also tends to jump on the table as soon as I turn my back, to inspect how good a job I did.  Gee, thanks.

Do you like sugar cookies?  Do you like decorating cookies?  Do you make Easter baking?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    April 15, 2011 11:26 pm

    Chai looks cross-eyed.

    I sent you mail on Friday. Don’t leave until you get it.

  2. April 16, 2011 2:01 am

    Perfect for easter!

  3. Pamela permalink
    April 16, 2011 7:38 am

    Hmmm, that table looks familiar! Chai is not going to be impressed when you leave the island. Is he coming for a visit this time?

  4. April 16, 2011 9:17 am

    What are you doing with Chai while you work this summer? Can he join you?

    How on earth did you manage to save a bag of chocolate for a year?!?! Janet would be disappointed. I was all excited about this recipe, because I also don’t care for sugar cookies, but then I saw cream cheese. That’s a hard one to replace without soy, which I try to avoid.

    Have you seen this photo contest? You should enter! http://www.welovebirds.org/page/spring-2011-photo-contest

Trackbacks

  1. If I were more ambitious « Making Food and Other Stuff
  2. OPC (Other peoples’ cookies) « Making Food and Other Stuff
  3. Christmas Cookies 2: Marbled Royal Icing « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

