Skip to content

Banana Pancakes

April 9, 2011

I’ve been listening to music at work while we’ve been thinning trees in the greenhouses, and hearing Jack Johnson’s Banana Pancakes for the first time in a while reminded me that I’ve been wanting to try making them.  So I consulted Allrecipes.com but made a few changes to the recipe.  And they are great!  A bit like banana bread, but quicker– I’ll be making these again.  In fact, I think I’d rather make these than banana bread.

I normally eat my pancakes and waffles with fruit and plain yoghurt, but I was out of yoghurt.   Since there was no added sugar in the pancakes I used a drizzle of maple syrup in addition to a topping of fresh strawberries.  While I was slicing the berries I was struck by how they looked a little like hearts, which inspired me to break out some mini cookie cutters (meant for cutting the centres of linzer cookies) and make little heart and flower shapes.  It would be a fun thing to do for a special brunch with kids.  The scraps would work well to make a strawberry syrup, or added to fruit salad or just snacked on as you make the pancakes.  Another idea is that you could also use strawberry shapes for a special addition to strawberry shortcake– perhaps just a few as a garnish on top.

Banana Pancakes

(Makes 5-6 medium pancakes)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 medium egg, beaten*

1/2 cup milk

1 tbsp canola oil

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 very ripe small banana, preferably organic**, mashed very well

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl.  In a medium bowl, combine remaining ingredients.  Stir dry ingredients into wet.  Over low heat, heat a frying pan.  When pan is hot enough to make a drop of cold water sizzle, grease lightly.  Pour batter onto pan, using about 1/4 cup per pancake.  When bubbles have formed all over surface of pancake, flip and brown other side.

Be sure to use low heat or the banana-y centres won’t cook through even though they’ll look done on the outside.

*I halved the original recipe, which used one large egg.  I was lucky my local eggs happened to have a smaller one in the carton!  Using a large egg probably won’t hurt, or you can double the recipe and use a large egg.  This only makes 2 small servings.

**Yes, organic bananas are more expensive, but the price gap isn’t that huge, especially in larger grocery stores.  And yes, since you peel them, you are less likely to be exposed to the pesticide residues (although how many times have you eaten an unwashed banana and then touched some other food item?)  But do it for the environment and the banana workers.

Uh oh.   Somebody’s going to help himself to my pancakes if I don’t dig in myself.

What’s your favourite kind of pancakes and how do you top them?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 9, 2011 8:20 am

    Chai – don’t you get enough of your own food?? I can see you are going to be a problem!!

  2. April 9, 2011 10:52 am

    I can’t believe you cheat on Bruno. I never make anything other than his pancakes. In fact, I have converted many others to only using Bruno’s recipe as well. This morning Rachelle made me some.

  3. April 9, 2011 1:41 pm

    I started singing that song the minute I read the title.

    Have you read Banana by Dan Koeppel? Very interesting and he makes the case for not buying organic, because they are so much more land intensive, so they end up contributing to deforestation. In my mind, bananas are a no-win situation. From deforestation to workers’ rights/treatment to pesticides to the whole culture to plastic bags….

    http://www.amazon.com/Banana-Fate-Fruit-Changed-World/dp/B001IDZJJU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1302381526&sr=8-3

    I also just picked up two books at the library that made me think of you – Moby Duck (about the great Pacific Garbage Dump) and American Wasteland (about how much food we waste from production to home).

  4. April 9, 2011 11:16 pm

    I love the heart & star& flour-shaped strawberries!! They are so cute and make the pancakes looks so yummy.

  5. Janet permalink
    April 10, 2011 10:08 am

    oh man, organic bananas are bad too? Sigh…………….

    also, these are the cutest pancakes of all time.

  6. April 11, 2011 7:38 am

    What a lovely idea …. makes the pancakes look absolutely adorable !!!

  7. July 20, 2011 6:15 pm

    SO IMPRESSED! these look incredibly delcious ❤

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut Milk Two Ways « Birds and Baking
  2. Capital Confectioners | Blog | Quick Bites: Pick Strawberries Day Edition!
  3. Starberry Shortcake « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

