Skip to content

Things I Like: the Chai Edition

April 8, 2011
tags: , ,

Since I got to talk about some of the things I like yesterday, Chai figures it is his turn to share.  So here are five things Chai loves.

1. Helping make the bed

Which actually means slowing down the process.  He also gets hair all over the comforter– what was I thinking, a brown corduroy comforter and a white (ish) cat?  I lint brush it each time I make the bed– but Chai loves to attack the lint brush, so it’s not always effective futile.

2. Playing with crumpled bits of paper.

Crumpled up to-do lists, tea-bag wrappers (it’s a chai one in the photo), the paper wrapper off Ferrero Rocher chocolates (at Christmastime he broke into the cupboard and stole one, just for the wrapper), bits of newspaper… the sound of anything being crinkled will bring him running.

3. Hanging out in the bathroom

Even if I think Chai is fast asleep on the futon, if I go into the bathroom, he shows up.  He has to supervise any shower or bath, his favourite way to drink is  from the running faucet, and sometimes he just lies in the tub for fun.  There is a hole in the shower curtain as a result of his over-exuberant playfulness.

3.  Killing the puppy

Actually, he prefers to attack my foot, with or without a slipper, but it is very painful so I distract him with this stuffed dog.  He always goes for its throat and often carries it around the apartment–

like a lion with it’s prey.

5. Watching for me to come home

It’s so cute to see him waiting for me at the window when I get home from work.  The routine is almost always the same.  He’ll get down and wait behind the door when I open it, then as I am taking off my coat and hanging it up he walks over to his scratching post and scratches it (to declare that the apartment is his territory?) and then we have a little snuggle.  He also likes to bird-watch and spy on the neighbour-cats.

What’s that you say, I’m a crazy cat lady who obviously doesn’t have any friends? 😉  What does your pet love to do?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 8, 2011 1:10 pm

    Sorry Chai – I guess I left the coment on the wrong blog – you will have to get Auntie Jillie to read it to you. You will be able to see all the kitties an photos of Michelle with kitties and hear the stories when you get here. There are many, many, many photos of kitties and Michelle with kitties 🙂 Have a good day

  2. April 8, 2011 1:54 pm

    What a lovely cat Chai is, the pic where he help you make the bed is great.
    Long ago I had a cat who liked to play with my feet. She just lay there in the hall, which I pass on my way to the kitchen, like nothing was going on and I would pass her, not thinking much of her being there. Suddenly she threw herself around my foot and bit me (not hard, just touching) and then ran off and hid. I was then supposed to hunt her down and pet her 🙂 First time I got surprised, but I used to play hide n seek with her, I guess this was her way to show another way of playing.

    Lotta

    • April 9, 2011 8:03 am

      Thanks for the compliment on the photo and thank you for visiting! It is nice to find other cat people through the blogosphere!

  3. April 8, 2011 8:47 pm

    All your cats posts make me want a cat. Almost.

  4. Janet permalink
    April 10, 2011 10:10 am

    i love all your kitty photos! so much personality shows through!

Trackbacks

  1. Chai and the Big Move « Birds and Baking
  2. Tea « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

