Skip to content

Chocolate-Orange Marble Cake

April 6, 2011

While searching for something, I happened across the interesting and often beautiful blog, Pinecone Camp, and came across a delicious-looking recipe for a chocolate and orange marble cake.  I made it once, following the recipe as written on her blog, minus the icing, and took it to work.  It was pronounced amazing by my coworkers.   But I found the chocolate part too chocolatey, plus it seemed like it had a bit too much butter.  It was also a metric recipe, so I decided it would be easier for me if, with my tweaks, I converted it to the North American measuring style, which is what I did the second time I made it.

Chocolate-Orange Marble Cake

3/4 cup butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup granulated sugar*

3 eggs, at room temperature

zest and juice of one orange, preferably organic

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup cocoa

Preheat oven to 375*F.  Grease a 8″ x 4″ loaf pan. (If all you have is a larger pan, that’s fine; the loaf will just be wider and thinner.)

In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar.  Mix in eggs one at a time.  Stir in orange zest and juice.  In a second bowl, combine flour and baking powder, fold into first mixture.   Put half the batter into the second bowl.  Stir in cocoa.  Alternately drop spoonfuls of each batter into the loaf pan and then run a butter knife through the mixture to create a marbled effect.

Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.  Cool slightly in pan, then lift out and cool on a wire rack.  Cut into slices and serve.

*The original recipe called for castor (or berry) sugar (which is very finely granulated) but I used organic sugar, which is coarser than regular granulated sugar, and it worked fine.

Do you follow baking recipes exactly or are you confident enough to make your own adjustments?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 8:34 am

    I rarely follow recipes. Actually, I can’t remember the last one I followed exactly. I don’t think of it as being “confident”, but maybe experimental? Hubristic (is that a word?) Maybe too lazy to go to the store to get the missing ingredient(s)?

Trackbacks

  1. Ginger-Kiwi-Citrus Smoothie « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

