Skip to content

Chicken Nuggets with Honey-Mustard Sauce

April 1, 2011

Talking to my mum on the phone the other day, I told her that I had plans to make chicken nuggets and french fries for supper.  She was surprised.  I realised that when you say something like that people picture you taking a box of chicken nuggets and a bag of fries out of the freezer.  Whoa, whoa, no way.  I may have cooked like that back in university (when I also ate things like hamburger helper, pizza pops, and toaster strudel… shudder…) but I have changed my ways.

I decided I was too lazy to make oven baked french fries the proper way, so instead I just cubed potatoes, tossed them with salt, pepper, rosemary, and a little canola oil, and baked them, putting them in the oven about 10 minutes before the chicken nuggets.

(I was also too lazy to make a salad to round out my meal!)

I’ve made chicken nuggets before, but an appetizer cookbook from the library that I’ve been perusing  had a recipe for chicken fingers that suggested using crushed corn flakes as a coating.  I don’t normally buy corn flakes but I happened to have bought some organic ones that were going for dirt cheap recently.

And wow, they make for amazing chicken nuggets.  I may never go back to my regular bread crumb coating again.

Chicken Nuggets

(Serves 1)

1 chicken breast or thigh ( I used a local free-range thigh), cut into bite-sized pieces

1 egg

1 tbsp cold water

1/3 cup crushed corn flakes or dry bread crumbs

1/2 tsp dried basil

pinch each chili powder, salt, & pepper

(This is easily doubled or quadrupled, but you shouldn’t need more than 1 egg/1 tbsp water)

Preheat oven to 375*F.  Grease a small baking sheet.

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and water. In another bowl, combine corn flakes and the herbs and spices.   Dip each piece of chicken into the egg mixture, and then the coating mixture.  Place on baking sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes, turn them over and bake about 8-10 minutes more, or until chicken is cooked through (you may want to cut into a nugget to be sure.)  Serve with dipping sauce of choice.

Honey-Mustard Sauce

2 tbsp mayonnaise

2 tsp yellow mustard

1 1/2 tsp honey

pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients, adjust to your taste.  I actually don’t measure, so these are definitely rough approximations!  You can thin any leftovers with milk and use it as a salad dressing.

“I has nuffin’ to contribute ‘cept my cuteness.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 9:44 pm

    They look yummy!

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 4, 2011 7:53 pm

    cute kitty 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Oven Fries « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

