Skip to content

Peach-Raspberry Crisp

March 27, 2011

Last week, my friend Katie mentioned how terrible frozen peaches are, which reminded me that I had part of a bag of them in my freezer, taking up valuable space.  She’s right.  They may claim to be “sun ripe” but they are hard and lacking in peachy flavour.   I decided it was time to use them up in a crisp.  I also have a bag of frozen BC raspberries, which happen to taste quite fantastic, so I thought it would be good to use them to add flavour, and it was a great idea.  I’d happily make this again with fresh peaches when they come into season (and I don’t mean those South American peaches in the produce section at this time of year!)

Peach-Raspberry Crisp

(about 4 servings)

2 cups fresh or frozen peaches, sliced

1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup quick oats

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 375*F.  Butter a loaf pan, add fruit.  Sprinkle with nutmeg.  In a medium bowl, cream butter and sugar together, mix in oats and flour.  If necessary, add a bit of water to get it to all come together.  Sprinkle over top of fruit.  If you like a lot of topping, you might want to double the topping part.  Bake for about 30 minutes.  Serve warm.

I also like this topping with a cranberry-apple filling (I add cinnamon then, and it takes longer to bake) or with a mixture of blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries.

Speaking of local (as in the BC raspberries), yesterday at the grocery store I needed peppers and I had a choice of a bag of 4 red peppers for $4 or a bag of one each of red, yellow, and green peppers for $3.  At a dollar a pepper either choice seemed expensive, but the red peppers were Mexican-grown and the tri-coloured peppers were Windset Farms, which is a BC-based company.  I decided to buy local (even though I figured they’d be hothouse-grown, so they wouldn’t necessarily have a smaller carbon footprint.)  But when I got them home I noticed this:

Hmph.  So much for local.

What is your favourite fruit crisp?  Do you try to buy local?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 8:51 pm

    All the years in Havasu mush together, but I think you were there with Javan, right? Remember when his mom came to visit and brought that GINORMOUS box of peaches? I still dream about them.

    I’m moving to N WI, which is berry heaven. Blueberries, raspberries, strawberries….ahhhh. Can’t wait. They don’t really grow so well here. I’m not sure what else grows up there, but I can’t wait to find out!

  2. Janet permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:13 pm

    Israeli peppers? Really? i wouldn’t have guessed that in a million years.

Trackbacks

  1. Freshly Picked « Birds and Baking
  2. Ginger-Orange Rhubarb Crisp « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

