Skip to content

The World Doesn’t Need Another Hummus Recipe

March 20, 2011

But I’m going to post mine anyway.  Because, well, I’m sure my mum has never read a blog with a hummus recipe. 😉  I started with dried chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans), as I am trying to reduce my exposure to BPA in can linings.  Plus dried chickpeas are much higher in folate.  So first I’ll walk you through preparing the chickpeas.  If you are new to dried beans, cooking chickpeas is a good place to start.  I’ve never had trouble with them falling apart like I’ve had other beans.

To soak one cup chickpeas cover them with 3-4 cups cold water.  I like to put them in a 4-cup measuring cup and then fill the cup up.   Cover with plastic wrap and place in a cat-free location, if necessary! (I put it in my cupboard.)  Let soak  for at least 8 hours.– I put them to soak before I leave for work.  If you leave them too long, they will start to sprout.  (Right, Mum?) 😉  Drain, rinse, and place in a large pot with plenty of water.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about an hour.  Check for desired softness after about 45 minutes; when the chickpeas are just about done, add salt, if desired.  (Apparently if you add it any earlier the beans won’t soften properly.)  Drain when softened to your liking.  One cup dried will yield two cups cooked.  Use as desired.  They can be frozen to keep on hand for quick meals.

Hummus

1 cup chickpeas

3 tbsp tahini

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 cup water

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp salt

pepper to taste

Place all ingredients into blender and blend until smooth, adding additional water if necessary.  Makes a little over 1 cup.  Best if used within 6 days.  Most recipes include olive oil, so you can add some if you like, but I don’t think it necessarily needs that extra fat.

Use a a dip or sandwich spread.

Once again Chai was seriously disappointed that the blender didn’t mean a smoothie.  He tried the “hummus smoothie” but he didn’t like it– cats  reportedly dislike citrus, so it was probably the lemon juice.  He did, however, enjoy the chickpeas.

“Chickpeas is like mouses.  They is fun to play wif before you eats them.”

Do you use canned or dried beans?  What do you use hummus for?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 10:20 pm

    I’m all about the dried. I just wrote up my post for tomorrow and mentioned making hummus from dried beans – I added a link to this post. It kills me when I see those $6 tubs of hummus.

    What don’t I use hummus for?

  2. March 20, 2011 11:42 pm

    Hi. Thanks for stopping by today. I love that your blog focuses on local foods and healthy options. I use only dried–mainly because of availability but also because of cost–I cook 4-6 pounds of beans each meal. 🙂

    I’m a little sad that I’m not the first person to name a cat Chai. LOL.
    Chai and I are not speaking today because she found out how to get into our bed last night and not only disturbed our bedroom mambo but woke me up at 5:30 AM to play.

  3. Marty permalink
    March 22, 2011 12:48 am

    I’ve got my garbanzo’s soaking right now! I add a bay leaf when I cook’em though, to help cut down on the gas. I also use some of the cooking water to my hummus instead of water and I use any of the leftover liquid to add to other legume/veggies soups I’m cooking the same week. I’m vegan, so plenty of legumes and veggies, etc in this household.

    I’ll also try blending in some red pepper flakes sometimes for color, or cilantro or italian parsley when processing the hummus – for fun and flavor. I also use other beans to make hummus, though use garbanzo’s the most.

    LOVE the pics of Chai! My sister has a 2-yr old kitty who looks just like Chia, his name is Mocha. I have 11 rescued kitties – but none like Chai! Don’tcha just love’em!

    • March 22, 2011 6:24 pm

      Thanks for visiting– and subscribing! Chai is the son of a pregnant stray that showed up at my parents– they still have her and his two sisters, as well as another cat. He’s a lot of fun to photograph but he also can be quite the handful!

  4. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 22, 2011 5:56 am

    Thanks for the easy directions Jillian. I just bought a different brand of hummus since my ususal wasn’t there and it is very runny! Would be good if I got into making my own. 🙂

  5. March 24, 2011 8:28 am

    I don’t like hummus. I know, I’m the only one. Usually I find it too garlic-y, but if it doesn’t have garlic in it then it’s just too chickpea-y. I thought I had a problem with legumes, but I realllllly like edamame.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Money Madness « Making Food and Other Stuff
  2. Vegetarian Chili « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

