Skip to content

Two-Bite Brownies

March 17, 2011

I wanted to bake something to take to work for St. Patrick’s Day, but in the end I decided it was time to lay off the food colouring for a bit.  So I decided to try out my new mini cupcake pan and make two-bite brownies.  And really, if you think about it, they’d be the perfect size for a leprechaun. 😉

I could have just used one of my tried-and-true brownie recipes but instead decided to search online and came across a tw0-bite brownie recipe on a blog called Dinner with Julie, which looks like a great food blog that I’ll be checking back on.  Of course, I modified the recipe to suit my tastes.

Two-Bite  Brownies

(makes approximate 24)

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cocoa, sifted

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 to 1 cup walnuts, chopped, optional*

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease mini muffin tin(s).  In a large bowl, mix together butter and sugar.  Stir in eggs and vanilla.  In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Mix into butter mixture just until well-combined.  If desired, mix in walnuts.  I used half a cup and made the first 12 without walnuts and then mixed nuts into the remaining batter.

*If you use walnuts, I recommend toasting them, which can be done by putting them in the preheating oven for about 5-8 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Spoon the batter into the mini muffin cups . It is super sticky.  I didn’t smooth the tops but you might want to try to.

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until puffed but still soft to the touch.  I baked the first batch for 13 minutes and they were a little more done than I would like.  If you like softer brownies, take them out while the tops are still moist.  Use a butter knife to flip them out of pan, cool on wire racks.

The original recipe said it made 24, but I actually got 26, which was a little annoying, since I only have one 12-muffin pan.  These are very dense, cakey brownies.  Personally I think that they are much better with nuts.  I haven’t had store-bought two-bite brownies for about 8 years, that I can recall (I remember splurging on them on my first solo road trip my first summer out of university) so I can’t really tell you if these are like them or not.

Do you like your brownies more fudge-like or cake-like?  Nuts or not?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 10:23 pm

    Fudgy all the way. I just made mini brownies on Sunday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

