Skip to content

Delicious Dressing

March 14, 2011

I was craving homemade pizza again, so I made it on the weekend.  This time I  did half mushroom and local pepperoni and half red pepper, pineapple, and local bacon (because I didn’t have ham.)  And it was fantastic.  In an effort to make it a more balanced meal I had some salad with it.

With some of most delicious salad dressing ever.

This is a recipe I adapted from  my friend Katie’s, mostly because I didn’t have all the ingredients at the time, and it worked out, so I stuck with my version of  it.  She called it Goddess Dressing, but I call it Katie’s Dressing– which I guess could be a compliment to her!

Katie’s Dressing (adapted)

(vegetarian, dairy-free, gluten-free, can be vegan)

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp tahini

2 1/2 tbsp white vinegar

1 tbsp yellow mustard

1/2 tbsp tamari or soy sauce (watch out for wheat in your brand, if you want it to be gluten-free)

1/2 tsp honey or sweetener of choice

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 300 g package soft tofu (I like Sunrise brand, which is non-GMO)

pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a blender, blend until smooth, adding water until desired consistency is reached.  Makes a bottleful (I think the bottle I use is about 350 mL.)  Tofu is supposed to be used within 5 days of opening, so I’d recommend using this up within that time frame.  But it is so good you will want to eat salad every day until it is done.

 

Chai was disappointed again that the blender didn’t mean a smoothie, so he only thought the dressing was so-so.  But I’ll use the rest of the package of tofu in a smoothie– he’ll be happy then.

What’s your favourite salad dressing?

Have you found a great recipe on someone’s  blog and added it your recipe collection?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 7:58 am

    I like pizza with salad! It can reduce the oil feeling of pizza! Like your recipe!
    For more baking recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that you like!

    • March 16, 2011 7:59 pm

      Thanks for the link; it looks like an interesting site and I might find something good there!

  2. March 15, 2011 8:05 am

    I’m glad you like it! I was just thinking a couple days ago that I need to make it. I’m not eating soy though, so I have to come up with something to replace the tofu…

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:26 am

    Sure looks good!

  4. March 16, 2011 8:25 pm

    How come you like that and you don’t like Mom’s “White Stuff” dressing??? It is delicious. Just like candy.

    • March 18, 2011 11:07 pm

      I do like that dressing– where’d you here that? The same place Mum heard that I would like apples on my quilt? 😉

Leave a Reply

