Skip to content

Mystery Squash Soup

March 4, 2011

I love winter squash.  For most of my life I’ve eaten it roasted as a side dish, but last winter I discovered the deliciousness that is squash soup.  Last summer, my brother had a garden and grew some squash.  He gave some to my mum, who then passed a couple on to me.   I realized I still had one hidden in the depths of my cupboard, so supplemented by a butternut squash I bought at the farmers’ market, I decided to make soup.  I can’t figure out what Edward’s squash is, though!  He claims the package of seed called it “vegetable marrow” but the pictures and description I find on the internet don’t match.  From the outside it looked a bit like a butternut squash but not on the inside.  And it looked a bit like a spaghetti squash but it wasn’t spaghetti-like.  Anyway, it made fine soup.

I roasted the squash at 375*F for about an hour , and then scooped out the flesh.   Then I followed a modified version of another Allrecipes.com recipe.

Squash Soup

(makes about 6-8 servings, can be dairy-free and vegan)

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 small onion, diced

2 large cloves garlic, minced

about 3-4 cups roasted squash (if you don’t have mystery squash, try butternut or banana squash) 😉

2 large carrots, grated

1 large Golden Delicious apple, grated (I’ve also used applesauce)

4 cups water (or you could use chicken or vegetable stock)

salt and ground black pepper to taste

1/4 to 1/2 tsp nutmeg, or to taste

plain yoghurt, sour cream, or milk, if desired

Heat the oil  in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onion.  A few minutes later, add the garlic.  Cook until tender, stirring frequently.  Add the squash, carrots, and apple.  Pour in the water or stock, add seasonings.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until vegetables are tender (this takes a while!)  Let cool slightly, then in a blender or food processor, working in small batches, puree the soup mixture until smooth.  (If you have both, a blender makes a smoother puree. )

Garnish with additional nutmeg.  If desired, serve with a dollop of yoghurt or sour cream, or you can stir in a little milk to make it creamier.  Without the dairy products, this freezes well.

Did you know that storing apples and carrots in the same fridge is a bad idea?  My mum taught me that.  The ethylene the apples gives off makes the carrots bitter.  Since I only have one fridge and I’ve discovered that neither carrots nor apples keep very well at room temperature, I buy carrots in small quantities and use them up quickly.

Chai was very interested in eating bits of roasted squash, but once it was soup he didn’t want any.  This is because I had used the blender and he thinks the blender means smoothies.  Apparently squash soup is nowhere near as exciting as smoothies.  More about Chai’s strange tastes in a future post!

How do you eat your squash? Do you let your cat try people food?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 12:46 pm

    If I had a cat, I think I’d make him eat his own food. I’m not much of a sharer.

    Weird, but I just finished roasting a butternut and had planned on make soup with it for dinner tonight. You must have read my mind.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:55 pm

    I roast my squash 😉 Your brother still has a couple squash sitting on his cabinet now. My cats think they want people food but for the most part they just smell it and walk away – except when it comes to salmon juice – they say there is never enough of that. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Its not fall, is it? « Making Food and Other Stuff
  2. Roasted Red Pepper-Squash Soup « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

