Skip to content

Chocolate Raspberry Lava Cake

February 17, 2011

One of my favourite free trade brands, Camino is having a Valentine’s Day contest on Facebook on how to best say “I love you” using one of their Raspberries chocolate bars.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to win a year’s supply of their wonderful chocolate, so I concocted an entry featuring a chocolate lava cake complimented by raspberry sauce, topped with vanilla bean ice cream and raspberries.

Never mind that I don’t have a significant other.  Or that I made it rather late last evening and had to eat it by myself past the time I should have been in bed– you can’t save a lava cake for later.  Cocoa and I don’t get along too well at night– it tends to keep me awake.   Plus I happened to drop my camera card into the oozing lava.

I’d made lava cakes once before, but the raspberry sauce was a new–and excellent– addition.  It helps cut the incredible sweet richness of the cake.  This is definitely a special occasion dessert– making one serving really emphasized how much butter and chocolate is in it!

Here’s the recipes if you want to indulge:

Chocolate Lava Cake (makes 2 servings)

3 oz (84 grams) semi-sweet or dark chocolate, chopped

1/3 cup + 2 tsp butter, softened

1 egg

1/4  cup sugar

1/3 cup flour

Preheat oven to 350* F.   Butter two 6-oz  ramekins.  Place chocolate in a bowl and microwave at 15 second intervals, stirring each time, until completely melted.   Be very careful not to overheat or the chocolate will seize.  Stir in butter until melted.  In another bowl, beat together sugar and egg.  Stir into chocolate mixture.  Stir in flour.  Pour into ramekins.

Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until top is set but center will still be runny.  Invert each ramekin onto a plate and serve with raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream, or topping of choice.

Raspberry Sauce

1/4 cup raspberries

2 tsp orange juice

2 tbsp water

1/2 to 1 tsp cornstarch (use the greater amount if you want a thicker sauce)

Place raspberries in a small saucepan and mash them.  Add orange juice.  Stir together water and cornstarch until smooth, then add to pan.  Heat over medium, stirring frequently.  Let come to a boil and cook until it reaches the desired consistency.  Serve warm or cold.

I ate the leftovers on more vanilla bean ice cream today.

If you want to vote for me, please go to Camino Amigos on Facebook and find my entry.  I promise if I win I’ll share the wealth with friends and family (and even have a giveaway for a lucky reader!)

“I want lava cake!”

Have you ever had a lava cake?  What’s your favourite chocolate  dessert?  Have you ever bought free trade chocolate?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 8:13 am

    I love anything with chocolate at any time of day. I just made a carob bar with stevia and coconut oil and carob powder, that’s it. Its only 8 am, and I am trying to stop myself from devouring it. Leaving the house now…

    • February 18, 2011 9:15 am

      I may have eaten some chocolate-topped oatmeal bars with breakfast the other day. But hey, they were oatmeal, and that’s breakfast food for sure.

  2. March 2, 2011 12:42 pm

    My fiance bought me fair trade chocolate from Wal*Mart… little disk shaped pieces. It came in a purple bag with owls on it.

    • March 2, 2011 9:00 pm

      Yes, Cadbury’s plain Dairymilk has gone fair trade, which is good. Hopefully that starts a trend with the big chocolate makers.

Trackbacks

  1. Saucepan Cookies « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

