Skip to content

A good idea… and a not so good one

February 15, 2011

Here I am, already straying from both birds and baking.  This post is about cooking.  Although technically both things were baked.

After seeing multiple advertisements for heart-shaped pizza I got it my head that I wanted to make one.  No longer satisfied with the pizza crust recipe I’ve been using since my 15th birthday party, which I found in a school library book, I signed out Pizza by Dwayne Ridgaway from the local library.  I tried his Basic Pizza Dough recipe.  It was a little thick for my taste, but otherwise a great crust– I’m sure I’ll use it again.  I just need to use a bigger pan.

I’ve made a decision to avoid buying factory-farmed meat, so I was very pleased to discover locally-made grass-fed beef pepperoni at the farmers’ market.  So I made a pepperoni and mushroom pizza.

It was really good.  The cat agreed, as he tried to steal a piece.

Another cute Valentine’s idea is to make heart-shaped toppings, as seen on  Edible Crafts.  Perhaps next year I’ll try that with some local ham.

The next day I finally tried the eggplant lasagne recipe I’ve been meaning to try for a long time, from a book called Food Cures.  (I know, the book sounds hokey but the advice it gives makes a lot of sense.)  I make a delicious roasted vegetable lasagne that includes eggplant, so I thought this one would be good too.


Chai checking out the eggplant.

I like the Chinese eggplant because they are usually cheaper.  And I like that they have a higher skin-to-insides ratio, although this recipe called for peeling them.  Which was good because they were on “blowout” sale for 41 cents a pound, and were slightly past their prime.

I decided to go for it and made the entire 12 serving recipe, as the noodles are too long for my smaller baking dishes.  It sounded like a good plan, as I like having leftovers in the freezer, to take to work for lunch, or for evenings I am too busy or tired to cook.

Except… it’s a pretty boring lasagne.  And now I have to eat it 11 more times!

Sigh.

At least Chai had fun with the eggplant.

Have you tried any new recipes lately?  Are they keepers or “I’ll never make that again”s?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 6:45 am

    Maybe you can pawn some lasagna off on co-workers for lunch?

    I need to try more recipes. I’m pretty much just eating the same things day in and day out. I don’t have a lot of extra time though.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 16, 2011 1:22 pm

    Ah, chuckle chuckle. Don’t forget to have a nice salad with your lasagne.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegetable Biryani « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

