Skip to content

Happy 3rd Birthday, Chai!

July 30, 2013

I’m sorry that I haven’t been blogging…

 

IMG_2415

Things have been getting in the way.

Ha ha, no, I can’t blame Chai.  I could give you various reasons for why I’ve been quiet on here, but it doesn’t really matter– I am back in time for a very special day–

It is time to celebrate…

IMG_2784

Chai’s 3rd birthday!

Chai is a very busy boy so I thought I would share some photos of him since we were reunited at the end of last field season.

IMG_2020

Saying goodbye to his niece before driving to British Columbia

IMG_2033

Enjoying the luxury of the hotel after 11 hours in the car

IMG_2067

Trying to relax on the ferry

IMG_3507

Helping unpack

IMG_3508

Finding a new favourite spot in our new apartment


IMG_2146

Testing out the dreaminess factor of the new duvet cover

IMG_2079

Meeting several of the new neighbours

IMG_3504

IMG_3505

IMG_2504

Taking interest in the fruit I brought home through a volunteer harvesting program

IMG_2189

IMG_2456

And then helping with the preserving of it

(He was particularly curious about the popping sound as the jars sealed)

IMG_2277

Helping with craft fair preparation

IMG_2250

IMG_2357

IMG_2387

The craft sale profits went to buying Chai pricey diet food,

which was his least favourite part of this year!

IMG_2463

Santa’s helper wrapping presents

IMG_2517

Chai enjoyed the daily excitement of opening the advent calendar my mum made us

IMG_3502

Playing with one of his Christmas presents

IMG_2553

It took a while, but eventually he didn’t mind wearing his Christmas bow-tie

IMG_2548

He had already forgotten the Christmas spirit by Boxing Day,

when we had a lost Boston Terrier visitor for a few hours

IMG_3503

Helping with laundry

IMG_2263

Participating in yoga

It’s about time to stop, but I could add many, many more photos… Chai is just so photogenic. ;)

I made the decision last year to stay year-round on the island and give up the nomadic field biologist life.  But an opportunity came up that I couldn’t turn down and I ended up back in northern Alberta for a seven-month contract.  This is the last time Chai, I promise!

But Chai seems to be happy spending the summer with my parents again–

IMG_3131

Taking naps

IMG_3032 And taking naps in the farm fresh air

IMG_3021

Happy Birthday Chai!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2013 1:24 pm

    Soooo cute!!

  2. July 30, 2013 9:03 pm

    Aww!! Now I really want a cat. And for you to blog more. :D

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    August 10, 2013 9:56 pm

    Auntie Jillie, Mom finally looked at it. I think I have gained too much weight to go back to the island! I may have to remain a farm cat :)

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 4th Birthday, Chai! | Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

