Skip to content

Whipped Shortbread

December 19, 2012

When I was young, every year my mum would bake Christmas cookies.  I only remember two kinds, almond drops and whipped shortbread.  The almond drops were my sister Michelle’s favourite, but I would only eat them because I liked the almond on the top.  Whipped shortbread were my favourite (but Michelle only liked the cherry on top of those.)

My sister Pamela posted a photo of her shortbread a few weeks ago on Facebook, which made me want to make some.  Those red and green cherries  pretty much contain every food additive that I am trying to keep out of my diet (and are pricey besides!) but I couldn’t resist.  Mmmm….  They are a juicy bite that goes perfectly with the crumbly, buttery shortbread.

whipped shortbreadWhipped Shortbread

(makes about 20 cookies)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar)

1/4 cup cornstarch

1 cup butter, softened

approximately 20 green and red glace cherries, optional

Preheat oven to 325ºC.  In a large bowl,  stir together flour, icing sugar, and cornstarch.  Add butter and beat with an electric mixer on low until well blended, then on high until whipped like cream.  Drop by spoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Garnish each cookie with a cherry, if desired.  Bake until edges are just beginning to colour, about 8-10 minutes, but watch carefully.

Fresh out of the oven the texture of these won’t be as nice as once you wait for them to cool.

That Christmas plate was a gift from my family to my grandmother, sometime in the ’80s I’d guess.  I inherited it this fall when I went through some boxes of china with my mother.   You will see more family heirlooms in coming posts.

What was your favourite Christmas treat as a child?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    December 20, 2012 7:44 am

    Nice to see the plate Jillian. Wish I could share with your shortbread. Perhaps Chai would like some of it :)
    .

  2. December 26, 2012 4:59 pm

    My fave holiday treat as a child was my grandmother’s fruitcake. Almost everyone I know has great disdain for it, but I can’t get enough of it this time of year.

  3. December 27, 2012 1:36 pm

    What an adorable blog! I love everything you bake, especially the melted snowman cookies :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

