Skip to content

Salmon Run

November 12, 2012

Recently I celebrated my fourth anniversary of moving to Vancouver Island.  Really?  This is my fifth winter here?  I was asked if it feels like home.  Yes, it does, to an extent.   However, I’ve spent the last three summers in the prairie provinces and when there it has always felt strange to say that I am from British Columbia, since I was born in Saskatchewan and my parents live in Alberta (where I graduated high school.)

Now that I intend on making this a permanent stay I’ve decided I need to get to know my home better.  And what could be more British-Columbian than going to see spawning salmon?  So earlier this month I headed over to Puntledge Park in Courtenay with my friend and her son to check out the chum salmon run.

dead salmon and dead leaves

It feels like it’s been quite a while since I’ve gone out and tried to do some real photography!  I have to sheepishly admit that it has been much easier just to rely on my iPhone most of the time when I want to take a picture.  It was a gloomy day and I should have had my tripod, plus I don’t have a polarizing filter, so photographing live fish properly was pretty much out of the question.  But I did manage to get one shot that I rather like, with it’s painterly quality.

The next week the sun came out and I decided to try again– but that part of the valley was under clouds!  I decided to focus on photographing the gulls instead.  I’m not particularly pleased with any of these photos, but they are better than nothing! ;)

Glaucous-winged Gull– didn’t his mother ever teach him to use a napkin?

Immature Glaucous-winged Gull

I wonder the eye is the tastiest bit, or is it just the easier place to start?

California Gull

There were a few of these guys mixed in with the Glaucous-wingeds and Mews.  I find them to be the most handsome of the gulls here.

I spent a long time watching this buffoon, defending his perch in the middle of the river.  He spent a lot of time yelling and grabbed this Mew Gull by the wing when it swam too close.

To see some lovely salmon photography from the same spot this fall, I recommend heading over to Island Nature and reading this post  and the one after.

What’s something special about your province/state/area?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    November 12, 2012 5:07 pm

    Very nice to read about the salmon and see the gulls. We watched a “Nature of Things” one time that showed some salmon are dropped in the forest where they decay and fertilize the trees etc. There must be lots of birds and other animals around to eat all the salmon along the shore. Very nice gull photos :)
    Looking forward to reading more of your blogs.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s a Tough World | Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

