Skip to content

Berry Cupcakes

August 28, 2012

Yesterday I shared a pancake recipe with summer berries, today I’m (finally!) sharing another berry idea.  It was Judiete’s birthday at the end of July and we used that as an opportunity to invite the rest of our banding crew to our cabin by the lake for a birthday/end-0f-season party.  So of course I also used the opportunity to bake cupcakes.

I made vanilla cupcakes using my favourite recipe and iced them with my favourite frosting.  Some I frosted with vanilla, and for chocolate, I added some Nutella (and a little extra milk) to the icing. (You could use cocoa instead, of course.)  To pipe the vanilla I used a Ziploc bag with a corner snipped off, as I didn’t have my piping tips.  And then I added raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries.  The end result were pretty, colourful (with no food colouring needed!) delicious summery cupcakes.  They also took far less time than decorating with multicoloured frosting.

I’m sure someday I’ll make similar ones again.

What’s your favourite summer berry?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 5:18 pm

    Raspberries are my favourite summer berry. And little teeny tiny roadside strawberries that pack a big punch of flavour. And Gramma’s currants are pretty good too. And fresh Saskatoons! Hmm… there are too many to chose just one!

  2. August 28, 2012 11:05 pm

    Very cute cup cakes.

  3. elmediat permalink
    August 31, 2012 5:33 pm

    They look wonderful. I am diabetic and this is beautiful torture. :)
    Can not believe you did the decorating with a zip lock bag. You have to do a photo post on how you did that. Especially the intricate design that looks like a flower. In the meantime, I will pass this post on to family and friends.

  4. thesaltygoat permalink
    September 2, 2012 9:09 pm

    Yum!! These look deliciously fresh and amazing :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

