Skip to content

Blueberry-Lemon Cake

July 10, 2012

This is the time of year when the big 2-lb boxes of blueberries are in the stores. While not as tasty as wild blueberries, they are still a welcome taste of summer.  We’ve been eating them on and in pancakes, adding them to our granola, and making fruit salad.

I also wanted to bake something with them, so I set out on an internet search.  Remembering how well cottage cheese worked in pancakes I wondered if it would work well in a cake as well.  Googling blueberry cottage cheese cake I ended up at a blog entirely in Russian.  After employing the wonder of Google Translate, using an online conversion calculator to change the recipe from grams, and adapting to my tastes and pan size, here is my result.

Blueberry-Lemon Cake

(makes 1 loaf, adapted from Divine Cuisine)

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup cottage cheese

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1- 2 tsp lemon zest

1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 350°F.  In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until well-combined.  Beat in cottage cheese, then eggs, one at a time, and then add vanilla.  In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, and lemon zest.  Mix into wet ingredients until well-combined (batter will be very thick.)  Gently fold in blueberries.   Place in a greased 8″ x 4″ loaf pan and bake for 50- 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

This was very tasty with ice cream, and also packed well for lunches.

I know, cottage cheese cake sounds weird.  But trust me, you can’t really tell that it is in there.  It adds protein and contributes to the cake’s moistness and texture.  I added 1 tsp of lemon zest to the cake, which gave it a very light lemon flavour.  If you don’t like lemon, just leave it out.  Or add extra if you really like lemon.

For another good blueberry dessert, try my Starberry Shortcake.

Speaking of Russian, I recently read the book A Mountain of Crumbs by Elena Gorokhova.  It’s a fascinating memoir about growing up in the Soviet Union, and it gives insight on to what it was like to live under communism.  I highly recommend it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 1:22 am

    That looks great. Thanks for sharing all the work you did converting this recipe.

  2. July 11, 2012 11:17 am

    I am seeing blueberry and lemon all over the place. I have a raspberry bush though. I’m thinking raspberry and lemon go together quite well, no?

  3. July 14, 2012 10:28 pm

    This looks delicious, and I don’t generally like blueberries. Well, I like wild ones, but not the silly large store-bought ones. This would probably work with Saskatoons, I will definitely be trying this by the end of the summer! Is the texture like pound cake?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

