Skip to content

Quinoa Burgers

June 15, 2012

A nice morning banding, with 13 birds captured, including a Cedar waxwing.  It was, however, our farthest site, which required setting my alarm for 1:45 a.m.  Our neighbours, a group of fishermen, hadn’t even gone to bed by the time we were driving out of here!  Surprisingly I didn’t feel too tired when we came home, so I was able to enjoy another beautiful sunny afternoon by the lakeshore, and cook a summery supper.

Quinoa-Veggie Burgers
(serves 4, based on this Chatelaine recipe)
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
1 cup water
1 cup coarsely grated white or cremini mushrooms (approximately 7 or 8)
1 cup coarsely grated zucchini
3/4 cup coarsely grated carrot
1 garlic clove, minced
1 egg, beaten
3 tbsp cornstarch
pinch chili powder
salt and pepper to taste
oil for frying

4 portobello mushrooms, optional

Rinse quinoa, then add with water to a small saucepan with a lid.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer 15 minutes.  Remove lid and let cool slightly.

Meanwhile, heat oil in a large frying pan.  Sauté mushrooms, zucchini, carrot, and garlic until soft, about 5 minutes.  Transfer quinoa and vegetables to a large bowl.  Stir in egg, cornstarch, and spices.

Clean frying pan, then heat more oil.  Firmly press quinoa mixture into 1/2-cup measuring cup. Turn and release into pan. Gently press to shape into a patty.  Repeat, cooking 2 patties at a time. Cook until browned and warmed through, about 4 min per side.

If  desired, brush portobellos with oil and grill on medium for five minutes per side.  Place each quinoa patty on top of a portobello.  Top with desired toppings.

These veggie burgers were fantastic– and they are both gluten- and dairy-free.  They are too fragile to grill, but were great served on a grilled portobello “bun.”  To make further use of the grill I also made these grilled sweet potatoes, plus I served my strawberry-spinach salad.

For a good grillable homemade veggie burger, try my black bean burgers.

What kind of burgers do you like?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2012 9:17 am

    YUM!! I love using the portobellas as buns.

    I wanted to tell you I tried the grilled carrots. I didn’t make it into a “carrot dog”; just chopped them and grilled with other veggies in my grill pan with oil. They were just meh and still really crunchy. I think I needed to cook them longer, but I don’t know. If you don’t have a grill pan, you should get one. It’s like stir frying on the grill, which is 100% better than stir frying on the oven.

  2. everydaythesunrises permalink
    June 16, 2012 4:16 pm

    I make a really similar quinoa burger recipe too, and I throw in lentils and some cumin as well. But I’ve never heard of portobello buns – such a brilliant idea! I tried it tonight and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing!

    • June 17, 2012 4:55 pm

      I thought about cumin– I use it in my black bean burgers. Lentils sound like a good idea, too. I am glad that you tried and liked the portobello idea!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    June 17, 2012 4:35 pm

    I like meat burgers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

