Skip to content

Lemon Cottage Cheese Pancakes

June 10, 2012

One of my thought’s for the rhubarb I used in the crisp was to make a compote to serve on pancakes, something I recalled seeing in Fresh Flavor Fast.  I opted for dessert instead, but looking up the compote recipe I saw the pancakes involved cottage cheese.  And we did have cottage cheese (frozen on the top shelf of the fridge!) that needed using up.

Last summer my coworker Mara gave me the Rebar cookbook and made the lemon ricotta pancakes from it, which were delicious, which made me think that lemon cottage cheese pancakes would be a good idea.   And they were.

Lemon Cottage Cheese Pancakes

(serves 2-3, inspired by Fresh Flavor Fast)

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1/2- 1 tbsp lemon zest
3/4 cup cottage cheese
2/3 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar, and lemon zest.  In a small bowl,  stir together cottage cheese, milk, vanilla, and egg.  Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until just combined.  Fry in a greased frying pan.  Serve as desired. (What you can’t see in my picture is the layer of yoghurt in between my pancakes!)

If you really like lemon flavour, use the whole tablespoon of zest.  I thought it was perfect.  Gabrielle thought it was a bit citrus-y for her taste.

I mashed the cottage cheese up a bit before I added it (the texture was weird because it was frozen and thawed) but it just melts into the pancake batter and you can’t really tell that it is there.

I dont’ know what it is about living here but I’ve eaten more pancakes and french toast in one month that I have ever before!   Mmmm….  Too bad I didn’t bring my beloved waffle-maker.

Do you like lemon?

What’s your favourite kind of pancakes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jennie frances permalink
    June 10, 2012 4:35 pm

    Now you have made me want some pancakes! I should get out my container of gluten free pancake mix so I remember to make some.

Trackbacks

  1. Blueberry-Lemon Cake « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

