Skip to content

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

June 4, 2012

As I mentioned before, we are quite a trek from the grocery store.  We made the trip to town yesterday and it took up most of our day.  So it is very useful to be able to bake our own bread.  I’ve made it three times so far.  The first time we had the door open and a squirrel came inside, I believe lured by the irresistible smell.

I’ve also been making a lot of other old favourites since I got here, like cheese biscuits, hamburger buns to go with black bean burgers, vegetarian chili, chocolate chip cookies, and trail mix cookies.  I also remade some of my newer recipes, like my most recent brownie recipe and the quinoa and chickpea salad I made last summer.  All delicious.  I gave some of the brownies to one of my bosses and she even ate the one she dropped on the ground.

I spend a lot of time during net lane preparation thinking about what we should cook for supper or what I should bake, if I have the energy, so recently I was mulling over making my chocolate chocolate chip cookies with the addition of cranberries along with the walnuts and chocolate chips.   But then I remember the chocolate oatmeal cookies I tried a few months ago but didn’t take a good picture to go with the recipe.  So I made them again and  added cranberries and walnuts.   This batch turned out even better than the originals, so it was worth the wait to share it.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

(makes 2 dozen, modified from Allrecipes.com)

1 cup all-purpose flour
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups quick-oats
1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/3 dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 °F.  In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Stir in oats.  In a large bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.  Stir in the dry ingredients. Mix in the chocolate chips, cranberries, and walnuts.  You may need to use your hands to get the ingredients fully combined.

Roll into 1″-balls and flatten on cookie sheets.  Bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  Cool on wire racks.  Best served with a glass of milk. ;)

What recipes of yours do you keep returning to?

Or what’s a new one that you’ve tried that is a keeper?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 9:06 am

    These jump right off the page! great picture, think I’ll give them a try.

  2. June 4, 2012 11:57 am

    My dried cranberries and chocolate chips live next door to each other in my cupboard, I think they are great pals and would love to be in a cookie together! I think I need to make these…

  3. June 4, 2012 9:46 pm

    I have made my mint chocolate chip cookies every week for the past month and a half. I start baking thinking I’ll make something new, but they are just SO good. I only have a couple left right now, but I’ll probably just make the same ones again.

    I should try something new though…but what? Hm.

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies « meet your treat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

