Skip to content

Guacamole

May 21, 2012

I love avocados and I buy them year-round, but somehow, I never think to make guacamole in the wintertime.  I guess it is just one of those foods that seems like a summer thing to me.   (I know it isn’t summer yet, but since this is my summer job I think of it that way. )  Plus it is better shared.  So the other day while we were waiting for the pizza dough to rise for our grilled pizzas, we had chips and guacamole.

I’ve been making this guacamole recipe for years, tweaking it little by little until it reached perfection, at least to my taste buds.

Guacamole

3 avocados

3 tbsp lime juice (lemon will work, too)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp hot-pepper sauce, or to taste, optional

1  Roma tomato, diced

1/4 cup chopped red or white onion or 1-2 chopped green onions

1/3 cup chopped cilantro, optional

In a medium bowl, coarsely mash avocados.  Stir in lime juice, garlic, cumin, salt and hot-pepper sauce, if using.  Gently fold in tomato, onion, and cilantro.  Serve with tortilla chips.

In the past I’ve used Cholula or Tabasco sauce; this time all we had was chili-garlic sauce– I’m not much of a hot sauce fan, so it just depends on what my housemates have!  It’s also fine without it.  I prefer it with red onion but whatever you have will be fine.

For two more delicious avocado recipes, see this post.  For a great salsa recipe, see this post.

What are some foods that you tend to associate with spring/summer?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 6:03 pm

    this is similar to mine…tweaked to my taste ;)

  2. May 24, 2012 8:10 am

    Tomato sandwiches, but I eat them all year. Radishes, but I think I have only bought them once Fresh peas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

