Skip to content

World Fair Trade Day (Free giveaway!)

May 12, 2012

Happy World Fair Trade Day!  I’ve been meaning to post more about fair trade for a while, and today seems like a good day to do so!  Unfortunately, I had a migraine this afternoon so I don’t have as much time as I would like to write this post.

If you don’t know much about fair trade,  I highly recommend that you take an opportunity to learn about it!  A good place to start is Fairtrade International’s FAQs page.  Here is an introduction to a few fair trade brands and products that I have tried:

First of all, my very favourite, Camino.  If you are a faithful reader of my blog, you have read about my love of their chocolate bars before.  I also have shared various recipes I’ve made using their cocoa and chocolate chips.   Also fantastic is their hot chocolate; I am drinking a mug of it as I write this post!

They also produce Canada’s only line of fair trade juice, and I can tell you that their Limeade and Orange-Mango are delicious.  (In honesty I didn’t like their Tropical blend, but I don’t really like combinations of too many fruit flavours.)

As I mentioned before, Dairy Milk’s milk chocolate is fair trade.  It is available at pretty much anywhere chocolate bars are sold in Canada (and it is also sold in Costa Rica!)  They also make chocolate buttons that are fair trade.

Green & Black’s

I’ve only had their milk chocolate almond bar, but it was delicious.  I will have to try some more of their flavours.

Level Ground Trading’s Direct Fair Trade Cane Sugar

Fair trade sugar is usually out of my price range, but I found this on sale.  This is moister, coarser, and more molasses-y than white sugar (and even the organic evaporated cane juice I’m used to buying.)  It looks almost like graham cracker crumbs.  I haven’t tried baking with it yet, but it is good sprinkled on cereal.

Earlier this year I was ridiculously happy to find out that the natural foods store sells fair trade avocados!  I also later discovered that they carry fair trade bananas as well.  Another store in my town has fair trade roses.

I’m not a coffee person, but fair trade coffee is very easy to find.  Fair trade tea can be more difficult to find, but several of Nourishtea’s varieties are fair trade (I’ve had their Earl Gray), and Four O’Clock also has several kinds of fair trade tea.

You can learn more about the different fair trade products available here.

In honour of World Fair Trade Day, I am hosting a giveaway.  The winner will receive a mini fair trade gift pack containing two servings of Camino fair trade organic hot chocolate (one dark chocolate, one milk chocolate), two Camino fair trade organic miniature dark chocolates, three Four O’Clock fair trade organic chai tea bags (one each of black, rooibos, and decaffeinated green tea) and ten “I ♥ Fair Trade” stickers.  This giveaway is open to anyone with a mailing address in Canada or the United States.  There are several ways to enter:

1.  Leave a comment about a fair trade product you have tried.

2. Go to Fairtrade International and read fair trade FAQs , and then leave a comment here saying you have done so.

3. Go to Fairtrade Canada and register a step for fair trade (such as trying a fair trade product, talking about fair trade, learning about fair trade, etc.)  Each step you register will earn you an entry– leave a comment here saying how many steps you registered.

4.  Become a fan of Fairtrade Canada on Facebook (they are found under their old name, Transfair Canada) and then leave a comment here saying you did so. If you are already a fan, that counts, too.

5.  Post about this giveaway on your blog (or share it on Facebook) and then leave a comment here telling me about it.

You have until Saturday, May 19th.  I will announce the winner soon thereafter.  Update: contest is now closed.

If you are interested in free fair trade stickers, bumper stickers, buttons or other promotional materials to share, you can order them here.

Disclaimer:  I am not affliated with any of the Fair trade organizations or companies.  Although I have recieved free chocolate and juice from Camino in the past through their giveaways, I am only promoting their products (and the others) because I enjoy them and value fair trade.  I am giving away this gift pack out of the goodness of my heart. ;)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Val McWhirter permalink
    May 12, 2012 10:19 pm

    I LOVE Endangered Species Chocolate bars (so much so that we gave them away as favours at our wedding!), I became a fan of Fairtrade Canada on FB and I plan to share your blog with the rest of my friends on FB and to check out the FAQ once I finish unpacking:-) Thanks for sharing I will definatley have to pick up so Camino chocolate the next time I see it!

  2. May 13, 2012 5:48 am

    I have tried and loved fair trade chocolate!

  3. May 13, 2012 5:49 am

    I took a step to talk to someone about fair trade!

  4. May 13, 2012 5:51 am

    I read about fair trade!

  5. May 13, 2012 2:44 pm

    Hey Jillian, You don’t have to enter me in the contest, but I just wanted to leave a comment saying how awesome I think this is. I love the idea of fair trade and I try to buy FT products whenever I can. I didn’t know that you could certify FT produce, but I do get tea, coffee, and chocolate FT when possible. The farmer’s market in Flagstaff had a both with a man from El Salvador selling all kinds of FT stuff from his family at home. It was fantastic coffee especially. I miss it.

    Great post!

  6. Ed Golem permalink
    May 14, 2012 6:27 am

    Hi Jillian,
    Just letting you know that I think this is a great shout out for Fair Trade. I brew Fair Trade Organic Shade grown coffee at home. I also sell the same and Fair Trade Chocolate Bars at my church once a month. We do this to help raise the awareness of Fair Trade just like you are doing. Best of luck.

  7. May 16, 2012 5:57 pm

    I’ve tried the FairTrade chocolate buttons before, the ones with an owl on the purple bag. And, of course, I’ve eaten a Dairy Milk bar or two in my day. I like to buy local when possible, and support small business. However, in the north there isn’t much “local” to buy, and smaller businesses are often choked out by the larger corporations such as Wal*Mart. The older I get the more interested in a sustainable footprint and eco-friendly, self-sufficient living I become. I know that isn’t necessarily “fair trade” per say, but I think the concepts go hand in hand.

  8. Jennie Frances permalink
    May 19, 2012 2:11 pm

    I’ve eaten Dairy Milk bars. mmmmm licious.

  9. Pamela permalink
    May 19, 2012 6:17 pm

    I’ve tried Camino chocolate bars! The peanut butter one is my favorite. It’s delicious!!!!

  10. Pamela permalink
    May 19, 2012 9:22 pm

    Went and read the FAQ’s. I did not know a lot of that stuff!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

