Skip to content

Brownies with Chocolate Sauce

April 16, 2012

I made brownies twice last week, using a new recipe.  The first time I made them to take to work the next day, as I had been informed that it was the birthday of one of my coworkers.  To make them more special I placed frozen raspberries on top of the batter before baking, inspired by Two Peas & Their Pod.  Unfortunately, my photos of that batch didn’t turn out… but they were incredible.  Perhaps the slight additional moisture from the raspberries made a difference, as they were some of the fudgiest brownies I’ve ever had.  The raspberries also got them rave reviews from my coworkers.  I will most definitely be making that version again and again and again.

The second time I made them for dessert for company.  I left out the raspberries that time and they turned out less fudgy–next time I make them plain I’ll reduce the baking time slightly.  Topped with ice cream and fresh fruit, with a drizzle of homemade chocolate sauce, they were fantastic as well.

Brownies

(makes one 9″ square pan, adapted from Joy the Baker)

1/3  cup plus 2 tsp butter (85 grams), melted

1/3  cup cocoa powder

2 tbsp water

3/4 cup  sugar or evaporated cane juice

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

2/3  cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp chocolate chips, optional

1 cup fresh or slightly thawed frozen raspberries, optional

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9″ x 9″ pan.  Place melted butter in a medium bowl, sift in cocoa powder.  Stir in water, then mix in sugar.  Add egg and vanilla and mix.  Mix in flour and baking powder.  Spread batter in pan, sprinkle with chocolate chips if desired.  If using, gently press raspberries into the surface in rows.

Bake for 18-25 minutes, or until done.  Enjoy!  Serve as desired; my chocolate sauce recipe follows.

Chocolate Sauce

(makes about 3/4 cup, adapted from Allrecipes.com)

1/3 cup cocoa

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

2 tbsp water (or omit the milk and use all water instead)

1/2 tsp vanilla

Combine cocoa and sugar in a small saucepan.  Slowly whisk in milk and then water.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, reduce heat and continue boiling for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Sauce will thicken as it cools.

I placed this in a 6 oz Wilton squeeze bottle, which works perfectly.

If you like chocolate sauce, seriously, make this recipe, it’s very easy, tastes as good as anything you’d buy in a store, but costs far less.

How do you like your brownies?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 11:15 am

    Oh my lord these look amazing. I love the fruit addition, perfect combination! I like my brownies gooey so I will take them out just a few minutes before they are done.

  2. jennie frances permalink
    April 16, 2012 2:48 pm

    Looks like you did a little extra for your company ;)

  3. April 16, 2012 4:52 pm

    I like mine in large quantities with mint-green mint icing! Try it you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

